Do uterine fibroids burst?

Noticed that many are conducting searches with the phrase “fibroids burst” or “bursting fibroids”.

From Mayo Clinic – Uterine Fibroids

Uterine fibroids develop from the smooth muscular tissue of the uterus (myometrium). A single cell reproduces repeatedly, eventually creating a pale, firm, rubbery mass distinct from neighboring tissue. Fibroids range in size from seedlings, undetectable by the human eye, to bulky masses that can distort and enlarge the uterus. They can be single or multiple, in extreme cases expanding the uterus so much that it reaches the rib cage.

Fibroids may cause a gushing flow, the passage of large clots, and severe cramps. Because they are firm, fibroids can not burst. This Wikipedia link contains a picture of a uterine fibroid (leiomyoma) showing that it is rubbery but solid.

Read a few of my thoughts on blood and clots and cramps.

Have you ever had a “bursting” experience (lots of blood, large clots)? Leave a comment with your thoughts or questions.

——————–

Related Posts:
What are uterine fibroid tumors?
Can I pass a uterine fibroid?
Psst… Where can I find pictures of fibroid tumors?

63 Responses to “Do uterine fibroids burst?”

  1. Susan Scott Says:

    I woke up this morning with severe cramps and enough blood to have to put on a pad. I finished my cycle about 1 1/2 weeks ago so I know it is not that. I guess a fibroid has burst. How serious is this? Do I need to go to the emergency room, or should I just rest today.

  2. Aly Fibroids Says:

    I don’t think fibroids can burst — I believe they’re a solid mass of uterine muscle. You might just be experiencing good ol’ fibroid symptoms. They have a way of interfering with the normal sloughing of endometrial tissue and the way the uterus contracts. I believe that’s why we fibroid gals experience clots, and why we sometimes have periods all over the calendar. Check out the posts on ["can I pass a uterine fibroid"] — that has good info/links on it. (right, Ms. Geek? Am I directing her to the right post?)

    [Edited by EclecticGeek to add link.]

  3. EclecticGeek Says:

    Susan:
    It does sound like the symptoms. I remember a while back having an 11-day period and then just 2 weeks later having a 7-day period. Monitor what you are experiencing. If you are having problems managing the pain or if you feel really uneasy about what’s going on, contact a health care professional. I just added Related Posts to the end of my original post including the one Aly Fibroids suggested: Can I pass a uterine fibroid?

    Aly Fibroids
    You were absolutely right with your post directions. Thanks for your answer and help.

  4. TracyA Fibroids Says:

    I just found out I have Fibroids. I have been bleeding now for 8 days non stop. I am feeling week and tired. My doctor just put me on iron pills. I go to the doctor to have an ultrasound and then I’ll know how big and hopefully how many of these babies I am packing. I am not nervous although I’ve been reading some true horror stories on the net. I am staying calm and prayerful. I would like to know if any one knows any good alternative methods to shrink the Fibroids?

  5. Cordelia Says:

    What they CAN do is break loose and create havoc in the uterus. This happened to me on boxing day a few years back. It was so painful that somebody drove me to the A&E. My then fiancee’s mother was an OB-GYN and had contacts at the hospital. THe top person there checked me out and said that the problem was caused by a fibroid that had broken loose…!??
    At the time I knew nothing of fibroids so I took his words for it.
    I needed A LOT of morphine for the pain to go away, and despite that I fainted twice during the episode.

    Funnily the thing I worried the most about was not what was wrong with me but that my fiancees’ mother (strict Catholic) would not get wind of our pre-marital relations (which had triggered the problem – it happened after intercourse.)

    It was a really awful experience, I was in insane pain for about 4 hours.

    Just recovering from UFE now – nothing compared to the episode I just described!

    Still not sure exactly what happened back then….
    Cordelia
    Death a grapefruit size fibroid!

  6. EclecticGeek Says:

    Tracy:
    I have a page where women are talking about alternative therapy. What I’m hoping that people will take away from that discussion is that it is best to work with licensed practitioners if you are interested in alternative methods.

    Is there a natural alternative therapy or treatment for uterine fibroids?

    Please keep us updated with the results of your ultrasound. Best wishes!

    Cordelia:
    Yes, although rare, fibroids can detach due to a lack of blood supply. I talk about it on this page:

    Can I pass a uterine fibroid?

    It seems as though your fibroid detached but you didn’t pass it.

    I’ve been following your comments on the page where women are discussing their post-UFE experiences. I hope your recovery is going well!

    Take care.

  7. Gracie Says:

    I found out two weeks ago I have uterine fibroids, so many and to such an extent that my uterus is 16-17 week size. I am scheduled for a hysterectomy later this month. My concern is the pain associated with what may be the fibroids. The pain is suprapubic and constant, keeps me awake at night, and I cannot find a comfortable position. I down ibuprofen and Tylenol, but nothing seems to alleviate the pain. I have just had my second round of cycle for this month (I had 5 within a 1-1/2 month period, prompting me to go to my OB/GYN); I complete a cycle then there is a dam burst to begin another one. Could this pain I am experiencing be from the fibroids enlarging. I am just on pins and needles awaiting for my surgery, but how do I deal with the pain until then?

  8. fibroid newbie Says:

    Friday night I spent 10 hrs in the emergency room (5 of it in actual treatment/diagnosis). I had decided to go after bleeding excessively for 3 days and passing silver dollar size clots. Thankfully I did because my blood pressure at the hospital was 65/34 after performing one of their “tests”. I was also dehydrated from bloodloss. After performing an ultrasound, they found that I have a grapefruit size fibroid, about 14cm(does that sound correct?} and several smaller ones. This isn’t a totally new diagnosis. A doctor that I had seen for a short time discovered that I had fibroids after checking me for cancer. She shrugged off the fibroids after finding out that it wasn’t cancer. I didn’t realize how serious or life interrupting it could be!

    Anyways, I’m newly researching and looking at different treatment options. I am scared but have a wonderful supporting husband (he almost fell asleep in the ER on his feet while they were performing the ultrasound). Then the engineer in him decided to play with everything in my room while we were waiting to be discharged! I drew the line at the bed controls!! Anything advice or experiences that anyone has had would be very welcome. One question I have that may sound very naive to many…….Are my fibroids serious enough to start treatment, or should I try to ignore them and hope they go away?

    THank you all for the potential help!

    Tracy

    • Marjorie Johnson Says:

      Hello. I have fibroids too. Yes I had symptoms that cause me to the emergency room because I was ignorant in how to treat them, but thank you jesus for prayer, research. Tell me your symptom and we will see what happen. The natural way is the best defense. There are things you can take and do to stop your symtoms. Thanks for responding. Don’t forget to put on your boxing gloves to start FIGHTING FOR YOUR UTERUS. DON’T LET NO DR. TAKE IT WITHOUT A ROLLING IN THE DIRT FIGHT. God bless. Hope to hear from you.

  9. Jo (5/14) Says:

    Tracy,
    Wow, sorry you had this experience… Are you also anemic? I just had a fibroid removal surgery a month ago. Mine was a grapefruit size, a lemon size and a kiwi size, and some smaller ones. I have been waiting seven years for them to go away, but they wouldn’t, so I had to get some serious help = surgery. I also had very heavy bleeding, those huge clots, but stopped short of emergency room and transfusion…
    There is another forum on this blog where women after surgery (abdominal myomectomy) and those preparing for one share thoughts, ideas and encouragement..
    I would recommend that you go there to check it out,
    it’s the “How are you feeling after abdominal myomectomy” (part 4 is the most recent posts),
    Start with a good doctor who will understand your concerns and will take your fibroids seriously, unfortunately, they do not go away…. but there are many options to consider so GOOD LUCK and feel better!
    JO

  10. Heidi Says:

    Tracy, I’m in the same boat with 3 golf ball size ones. As you I don’t know whether to leave them alone and hope for the best or have a partial hysterectomy. The pain and boating, bleeding and clots can be scary, but my Gyn doesn’t seem to think much of it. There just doesn’t seem to be enough concrete research or results in women’s health. Just like menopause and whether to do hormone replacement or not. Why don’t we have more definite answers I’d like to know.

    Good luck and please pass on any information you discover that will help and I will do the same.

  11. Amy Says:

    Some research just came out that tomato powder fed to quail with tumors on their fallopian tubes makes the tumors smaller… might be worth a try to eat more tomatoes and t sauce!

  12. mona Says:

    I have 6 fibroids and I have consulted 3 different doctors. They all tell me I need a Hysterectomy and don’t even consider a Myomectomy. I finally found one who would even consider it and will see him next week. Does any one here knows of a site that will clearly explain what will happen to the uterus after a myomectomy, if there is a max number of fibroids to have before they rule it out? etc etc…thanks…really worried about all this

  13. Amy Says:

    I don’t really know the answer to your question, but there are plenty of women who have posted on other parts of this site who have had more than 10 removed… admittedly, they didn’t all show up on the ultrasounds before hand. But it seems a lot of women have had quite a few removed! it may have to do with the location and/or size of your fibroids… but it sounds like you might have found a good doc. see what he has to say and take it from there. You might want to ask some of the women on the more active threads (like “how are feeling after your abdominal myomectomy”) good luck!

  14. Ina Says:

    Do not believe them. I had 5 fibroids (1 large 9*11 and few smaller 3*4). I went to 8 doctors and all of them recommended myomectomy. I decided to have UFE. Now, I am all right. Hysetrectomy? Why. Most of these ginecologists will have prostata cancer, why do not they cut their testicles cut off?
    Easy to cut the uterus off? Why they do not cut testicles off so often?
    Sorry for my English, I hope you understand me well.
    Ewelina form Poland

  15. Eve Says:

    Mona; I’m not sure if you’re still bouncing around in this forum, but I don’t believe that there’s any specific number of fibroids that would rule out AM and make hysterectomy necessary. My doc has told me that I have so many fibroids that they will probably have to leave some of them in there so that I still have a uterus left… my point is, it is not black and white, or I don’t believe that it should be. There are lots of options, including the route that I will be taking: removing the bulk of the fibroids that are causing me to have symptoms and discomfort, and leaving some behind to protect the integrity of the uterus. For me, this scenario is worth it. My doctor does not recommend UFE, but I wonder about undergoing UFE in conjunction with AM– like surgically removing some fibroids and then going in for UFE if there were any left behind. (Additional thoughts/comments about this are warmly welcomed).

    Best of luck.

    Eve

  16. Amy Says:

    Hi Eve,
    I’m in the sf bay area, so I’m esp. interested in your doc. I’d like to know why he doesn’t go for UFE? I’m menopausal, so fertility isn’t an issue. Can you give me a bit more info about what he doesn’t like? thanks! And good luck on the 27th!

  17. Kim Says:

    Hi,
    I had a large fibroid removed about 6 or 7 years ago via a myomectomy. It was attached to my uterus( Predunculated). Since then( about 3 weeks ago my DR. found another during a pelvic exam) my doctor states I have two that have grown back( but she stated they are in a position that is not harmful, I had a ultrasound done and she wants me to follow-up with a MRI just to make sure what you suspects is true, what I have come to realize is a MRI is the best way to find where and how big the fibroids are). I want to have kids. I have not had any pain from this one or the previous one that was removed ( did I mention weigh 10 pounds, look like a football). I am trying to get pregnant and my doctor is giving me 6 months. But I am in to Natural Remedies and what I have found is a herb called Vitex it works wonders in some cases it has help shrink fibroids and uterine cysts. It also is use to assist in getting pregnant. What it does is balance your hormones so that you are not over producing Estrogen which causes fibroids to grow. I have done tons of research on fibroids. Fill free to ask me any questions. I am a nursing student I graduate in Jan.09 plus I have a lot of resources because I have been in the medical field for many years. But I do have one question has anyone ever had more than one myomectomy?
    Also researchs shows that most fibroids grow back in 5 o 7 years. Usually, not in the same place; unless the doctor does not remove the root(base). So keep that in mind if you decide to have one or more remove and you have not had children the bes thing to do is get pregnant as soon as the Doctor releases you.
    I will keep everyone in my prays.
    God Bless…

    Kim

    • Rosalie Romo Says:

      I’m so glad to find your’e post. I am laying here with a heating pad on now afraid but you give me some hope. I am also loosing my insurance this month when I need it the most. Do you know how I can still get them removed without insurance? I work in a tourist town so we get lay off for a few months when the shows close through the winter and I want to try and get this fixed before going back to work. I cant have any attacks and work while bleeding this long as well. times are getting harder now because the docs don’t want to administer narcotics like vicodin for the pain. Any way I will try to find this vitex, I’m 32 and a year ago i finally got the pelvic ultrasound and they found fibroids and a cyst on my overy. a year later it’s getting worse. when it combines with my mild case of colitis I feel like I’m having a misscariage all over again. anyway any tips would be great. my email is clemente1153@yahoo.com and my name is Rosalie, thanks for the prayers.

    • Rosalie Romo Says:

      PS THIS MESSAGE IS TO KIM.

  18. ann Says:

    Hello Kim
    I am wondering how you found out you had fibroids in the first place. Since February of this year I have had 3 months of breakthrough bleeding. Heavy with large clots lasting approximately 4 days and then it abruptly stops. When I explained this at my yearly pap-I was told it was my hormones and recommended the Mirena (an IUC). Was investigating this option with some apprehension. I have two children born by c-section the last one 2 years ago. Since I just had a normal pap 4 months ago-I ask gyn to call in birth control for me as I could not take 3 periods in 6 weeks again. My question is: Ive always had heavy periods. NEVER had breakthrough bleeding before. This bleeding is just as heavy as normal period. Started taking iron and will start Femcon FE on Sunday. Did you have these symptoms before your diagnosis?

  19. Lorrie Says:

    I just found out recently about the fibroid tumors. I’ve always had cysts and thought the low grade pain was coming from them, but I switched doctors and my new one tells me that I have six cysts and two fibroid tumors the largest one about the size of an egg. Saturday I stood up to go upstairs and got hit with a pain similar to childbirth. I couldn’t move, just stood there with my legs shaking for about a minute and a half. My children are 23 and that’s the last time I felt that kind of pain, is it associated with the tumors?

  20. Dee Says:

    Cyst on ovaries is so excruciating. You should be careful because you can pass out with pain if they burst and go into shock. Ring an ambulance, or a friend to take you to hospital next time.
    I now have a huge fibroid that caused massive bleeding. I have stopped the bleeding (believe it or not) and am waiting after a month for hopefully a relatively normal bleed. How I stopped the bleeding was by taking daily dosages of Clement’s Iron (1 tablet), Blooms 1000mg Natural Fish Oil (1 tablet) and finally, Thompson’s One-A-Day Kelp 1400 (1 tablet. Now, take this for 2 weeks only, because all of this is very high in selenium and iodine and you can easily overdose. The results are unbelievable!! My doctor was about to book my in for a blood tranfusion.

  21. CD Says:

    Has anyone tried biodentical hormones to reduce the size of the fibroids?

  22. Lynda Says:

    WOW, I’m so glad I found this site. I have fibriods and they are causing me pain. I’m experiencing my second period in less than three wks. I came here bc I thought I busted a fibriod. I’m so glad I didn’t bc I don’t have medical Insurance I lost my job and there went the blue cross. I stop eating sugar I try to avoid sweets bc they make my bleeding heavier. I too needed a blood transfusion but refused the Doc. advice. I started suffering from lower back pain from the fibroids and when I sit and go to stand sometimes I catch a bad cramp in my abdominal. My doc put me on 800 mil of Ibup. I cut them in half and it really helps my pain. I’m overweight and have been working out to strengthen my back and stomach muscle and I can tell you I feel so much better. I also lost patches of hair and that too was bc of my fibroids soaking up all the nutrients out of my body so they could grow, what a bummer. I eat a healthier diet and take my iron and my hair grew back so ladies if you start losing hair it could very well be those darn fibroids. And thanks to everyone for sharing I will sleep better tonight knowing I didn’t burst the fibroids.

  23. Michaela Lavalla Says:

    You wouldn’t believe it but I have lost all day looking for some articles about this. You’re a lifesaver, it was a interesting read and really helped me out. this is my site by the way (if you are interested) – Homepage

  24. fish oil omega3 Says:

    I found a web site is China that sells those fish oil capsules that take care of the fatty acids. I am not sure that they are healthy to eat but I am tempted by the price. Any suggestion how to have better control over the quality of my diet supplements?

  25. Super Says:

    I agree in your post, but there must be an exact explanation on that.

  26. Diane Says:

    Has anyone ever had the feeling of your fibroid dropping? It feels like occasionally that it has gotten detached and smaller. I don’t feel it when I touch my stomach as I use to. At last check up, mine made my uterus the size of 5 month pregnancy. I’ve never been pregnant.

  27. Donna Says:

    Hello ladies,

    I feel your pain and frustration. I never knew I had fibroids. I had all the symptoms described above by all of you. I searched and searched the internet and found basically the same info. Not dangerous, wait and see, well you know the rest. I am 49 years old and figured, heck its menopause. I put up with the pain and the extreme bleeding and clots. My period was constant. I didn’t know when it stopped and when it started again. I was miserable. I could plan nothing.

    On Sept 8th, 2010 all changed. I was in work alone at my desk. I felt something strange and thought I better go and change my pad. I stood up and had a massive hemorage. I was no longer concious when paramedics arrived. I was bleeding to death. I was also recommended to have a hysterectomy. I suffer from an anxiety disorder as well, so that option didn’t work for me.

    I started researching and came across adrug called Lupron Depot 11.25mg. I deceided that was the route I was going to take since I should be fairly close to menopause. I researched all the side effects read all the horror stories and fond them to be untrue for me anyway. I am doing well on it. It is shrinking my fibroids, reducing my pain and I am getting on with my life. I have one more 3 month treatment in January and hopefully no additional treatment of any kind will be necessary.

    I wish you all success,

    Donna

  28. Starlight Says:

    You should change your diet to a completely alkaline one. It’s very easy to do and you might notice the effects within weeks. It will do you no harm as our bodies like an alkaline environment. Your body is too acidic and so your ph is out of balance , which allows fibroids to grow in the first place. They feed of acid foods. All cancers, cysts etc usually grow in an acid environment in our bodies.

    Fibroids are one sign that what you are eating needs to change. This is caused by bread(acid), Milk (acid) and some of the food we think might be doing us good. Look at any food chart online and follow the alkaline side well. You’ll be really surprised at what is acidic food!

    Drink plenty of water and take iron, Multi B vits, cod liver oil and any other vitamins you think you need. Get yourself some apple cider vinegar (very alkaline) and mix a spoonful of it in a glass of water and drink it. Get yourself some black strap mollasses (very alkaline) and take a spoonful in the morning and one in the evening. It is full of minerals which your body is missing too. Alkaline food carries lots of minerals which your body needs right now.

    This is how I am shrinking my 11.5 fibroid and others to avoid surgery. I can really feel the difference after just 2 weeks but it may not happen so soon with us all.

    I have not had this advice from any doctor who would rather I have surgery. I have asked what the cause of my 5 fibroids may be but they have put it down soley to hormones and my age, but no mention of diet. I have since researched that hormones and diet are so very closely linked. Good luck.

    • Rosalie Romo Says:

      Thank you starlight, I have known for a long time my body was having a problem with acids, starting with orange juice with pulp in my 20s. having mild colitis now i cant have any spices or any chillie’s. even some cavities I have had after my miscarriage formed and if I touch my toung on it, I could taste something acidic coming out of it. I will try this new eating style, no doctor ever told me about the acid factor.

  29. Patti Says:

    Somebody, help me! I had my cycle for over 3 months with huge blood clots (about the size of an orange), I went to the doctor he gave me hormones (progestrone I believe) that stopped my cycle, as long as I was taking the pills, now it’s back, I am wearing four pads two in the front two in the back, when i stand up after sitting or laying the blood pours over the pads and down my legs, I wish I were exaggerating, my back is in agony and I have severe cramps, and orange sized clots. I want to go to the hospital but i could not sit there and wait in this pain.

    *my period is normally heavy and crampy, but this is crazy!

    • Carolyn Says:

      Patti….I had what you are going through. You have to go to hospital and get tranfusions or you may die!! I had 6 tranfusions and a curette…which seems to have worked. I have not had massive bleeding and giant blood clotts for over one and a half years! I still have a fibroid which apparently will shrink when I go into the final stages of menopause. I am in my early 50′s.

    • Theresa Says:

      HOLY @#^%!!
      Dear Patti,

      I don’t know if you are still bouncing around this blog but if you are I would seriously love to get an update! Your post scares me. You need to go to a different doctor ASAP!! Call 9-1-1!

      If you go to the emergency department of a hospital and tell them what you’ve written here, they would put you at the top of the triage list and you wouldn’t have to sit for any length of time. Your life is in grave danger!! Blood loss to this degree can kill you, no joke.

      Also remember you are the person in charge and you need to say you want an intravaginal ultrasound and an MRI to really see what on earth is going on inside of you!! Something is seriously wrong here.

      I hope you’re OK!!

    • Valencia Says:

      Thank you I thought I was the only person going thru this

  30. Shannon Says:

    Hi Ladies,

    I’m glad I found this site. I’ve had severe lower belly pain, cramping and bloating — it was really bad about a month ago and then eased a bit; came on strong again a couple of nights ago. I’m 52, and my periods stopped completely about 4 years ago when I became severely ill with ulcerative colitis. But about two weeks ago I started spotting very occasionally and then started having a mucousy discharge. It was barely enough to wear a panty liner – just an annoyance. But two nights ago when the pain returned the bleeding became a bit heavier and redder. Then about an hour ago I woke up and felt a huge amount of pressure in my vaginal area, sat up and felt a huge rush of blood. When I got to the bathroom it was very watery blood and didn’t last very long. But as I was rinsing out my underwear I discovered a whitish-grey mass about 3-4cm long and 1 cm wide kind of attached to my underwear. Is it possible I passed a fibroid or a piece of one? My pain has lessened considerably, although I still have a feeling of fullness in my lower belly and pressure on my pelvic floor.

    Any ideas or suggestions?

    Thanks again for all the great advice on this site!

  31. Carolyn Says:

    Gee, that’s a bit unusual…I wish my fibroids would pass. I have had massive blood loss…but not the white/grey mass that you are talking about! I would see your doctor. I would like to know too. My fibroid is very, very big! They say that fibroids shrink at our age..I’m the same age as you. I am yet to see evidence of my huge fibroid shrinking!!

  32. Amy Says:

    hello. I am very happy to have found this website. My doctor said i have fibroids around a year and a half ago. Then, he decided to do a laparoscopy. They found that i had a huge amount of scar tissue, so he shaved some of it off. I felt great for about 6 months. Now, i am back to having a lot of pain, heavy periods that last 15-20 days, and clots. Went to the er a couple weeks ago for severe pain, and a mri showed fibroids. I go to a new ob/gyn tomorrow. Hopefully i can get some answers and relief!

  33. Elaine Says:

    I have been reading through your stories and wondered if anyone has experienced the same as me. I launched into perimenopause in 2001 when my periods, which had always been scanty and infrequent, became more frequent and heavy. These gradually became even heavier and lasted two weeks, with intermittant spotting. A few years later it seemed to turn into one continuous bleed and i only had a few days when I wasn’t bleeding each month. Then I discovered my first prolapsed pedunculated fibroid which had emerged outside my vagina. My doctor here in the UK was fascinated as he said they were rare and arranged for it to be removed. However it broke off on its own and the bleeding stopped 14 days after. From then on I seemed to bleed continously for a couple of years and I didn;t know what was actually a period and what was bleeding from a polyp or fibroid. Then, miraculously it all stopped. I went a year without a period (they were always wear a bath towel which soaked in an hour and a half as tampons and pads couldn’t cope with the flow. Just one incident with another polyp detaching but I felt confident that the end (menopause_ was in sight. However, December 2010 I suddenly started to bleed…..more heavily than I had ever bled before (and that was serious enough) and knew something major was wrong. I went to the emergency dept at my local hospital but they weren;t really bothered and just gave me hormone tablets to stop the bleeding. Well it didn;t and I hemorraghed for 7 days. My doctor sent me to the local gyno who wasn’t interested in why I had bled so much but an ultrasound showed one huge fibroid and several small ones. After the ultrasound I stood up and felt a massive rush and went to the ladies room and passed what I now think was the large fibroid as something the size of a small kidney fell out. Huge blood loss again started (it had only recently stopped) but the gyno dismissed it and just snipped off a few tiny polyps she saw on my cervix. I was green, not white from the bloodloss, and couldn’t wait to get out of the hospital. If I was going to die from massive blood loss, then I wanted to be at home. I have not returned to see any medical people since as I cannot trust them to treat me correctly. I self treated with iron tablets as I was very weak for months and have not bled since, I am 55 and all this bleediing started when I was 45. So I think you can pass a fibroid but it must be so rare that doctors don;t diagnose it…sadly mine never bothered to investigate how much blood loss I had experienced and I could have died through their failure to give me a transfusion.

  34. T Says:

    Elaine,
    What is your diet like? Stress Reduction, Herbs can help a great deal.

    • Elaine Says:

      Sorry not to get back sooner. I have a restricted diet as I cannot tolerate a lot of foods…no dairy or milk, no bread or onions, eat white meat or fish, no alcohol or smoking, no caffeine, tea or coffee. Drink water or fruit juice. I have bouts of IBS so have to be very careful. As my anemia makes me go off food sometimes, my boring diet doesn’t really worry me any more.

  35. Ann Says:

    Hello and good day. Thank you so very much for all you info. I can’t wait to get started on my new alkaline diet and see what happens. I have multiple fibroids and would love to have kids, so anything to shrink these monsters. I couldn’t stop crying while reading all these stories. The things us ladies have to go through :( I wish there were a permanent treatment.

  36. Valencia Says:

    I went to the emergency room 3 weeks ago and last night had to leave work due to so much bleeding wennt thru my clothes and sown my legs I was mortified. I am 52 when does this stop.I can’t take birth control pills andI don’t want surgery I cried all day long today. Iam up now at 1 am I can’t sleep

    • T.L Says:

      I am so sorry to hear that. Believe me I have been there. I assume you have fibroids and that is why you are here.
      Have you tried herbs?
      Drink Apple Cider vinegar 3 tablespoons, 3 times daily–Bragg apple cider vinegar only–in 8oz water –with 1/2 teaspoon aluminum free backing soda.

      Take 3-4 table spoons of organic unsulpherated blackstrap molasses–2-3 times a day.
      Get this stuff from your health food store or from www. vitacost.com

      at the same time : cut out meat and dairy for a few months–at least 3 and
      if you can afford it take up acupuncture

      This stuff helped me.

  37. Linda Says:

    Hi I had large fibroids in my uterus and I fell pregnant the baby had put itself between 2 fibroids was told I would have a very uncomfortable pregnancy. Then things turned to the worse I had been in agony for a few days but no bleeding the short of it I went to hospital where I was monitored for a few days had MRI’s ultasounds and heaps of bloods tests I was in the worse pain I have ever felt in my life was rushed into surgery on the Thursday night before Good Friday they believed I had internal bleeding they didn’t know where from. I was cut from one end to the other what they found was the largest of the fibroids that was in the fundus had ruptured I had over 3.5 litres of blood in my abdomen and they could not stitch my uterus back together it would not stop bleeding, They made a decision that they had to do, theytook my uterus out and my baby there was nothing else they could do my splein was torn and so was my bowel. Ispent a couple of days in ICU before going to the ward the largest fibroid was 3.2 kilos it is very rare for this to happen but it happened to me there is not a day that goes by that I wish this didn’t happen I lost my baby and I can’t have anymore. I asked 12 months ago to have the fibroids removed and got told by a GP they can’t grow that fast well they did and I will never hold my baby or watch that baby grow up it’s just not fair. The Doctor who performed the surgery and saved my life has not been able to find much information on this as it is so rare.

  38. Shelly Says:

    Fibroids may not BURST but they do rupture. I just left the hospital with a C-Section after having severe pains for a week and bleeding (which i thought was my period). After being balled up for two days not being able to move, I went to my doctor who sent me to the hospital. I was just about to see the doctor there when i threw up blood, I was sent for an emergency operation because it had ruptured and i was having internal bleeding….so they do burst/rupture.

  39. Lisa Dawn Ellis Says:

    EX ABLATE 2000 MRI GUIDED ULTRASOUND -KILLS FIBROIDS W HEAT—ONLY 12 MACHINES I BELIEVE IN EXISTENCE-IF INSURANCE DOESN’T COVER HAVE TO ASK MD TO REQUEST COVERAGE—PLEASEEEEEEEE INVESTIGATE THIS FOR YOURSELVES AND LET ME KNOW WHAT HAPPENS FOR U-LDE1247365@HOTMAIL.COM-GOD BLESS!!!!! XOXOXOX

  40. sara Says:

    I have fibroid tumors in my uterus it is 3 * the size it should be and I have just had something come out of me that looks like a robbery find looking mass ,can anyone tell me what I should do now ?

  41. carla Says:

    sara i just passed one too and im not doing anything theres no complications

  42. shanaldo Says:

    I am a very tiny woman (4’9″, 88 lbs.), and my fibroids are at 29 weeks stage. I’ve never had children, and I am researching how I can get these OUT. They can have/take my uterus- I don’t need it – but you cannot have my ovaries EVER. By the way, 2 of my fibroids are LIQUID FILLED – So I must tell the Ob/Gyn’s in this forum to PISS OFF – if they are liquid filled, they can burst! What I want to know is, if they burst, can this kill me??

  43. NickiB Says:

    Fibroids rupture, which is pretty much bursting. And yes if they rupture you bleed internally until the doctor in the ER finally picks up on it and you go to into surgery immediately. So yes, if you can’t stand up because you experience severe pain and you feel bloated around your abdomen and whilst breathing, it means your internal organs can be irritated by fluid. I bled 2 litres of blood internally and refused to leave the ER until someone realized what was going on. It can be fatal if undetected.

  44. STEPHEN Says:

    Please, what does it cost to have the medication (drug) to shrink my wife’s fibroid.
    We leave in Ogun State, Nigeria.
    I await ur reply.
    Thanks

    • shanaldo Says:

      Stephen –
      There aren’t any medications to shrink these fibroids. They must be surgically removed. As for the article, I have a question for the Doctors. How come one of my fibroids is FLUID FILLED? I am assuming it can rupture or burst – Why won’t the doctors tell me anything?

  45. ensatina Says:

    NOTE You need to fix many of the links to go to the correct pages!!

    HERE IS THE TRICK TO SEE THE CORRECT LINKS:
    Click on a link, check the address bar, if it doesn’t include “wordpress” you need to add it and click again and you will get through. Apparently I can’t place a link in here to show you, but just add “wordpress” without the quotation marks and make sure you add a period – one is needed on either side of .wordpress.

    Good luck!

  46. Zelda Clements Says:

    I was diagnosed with fibroids in 1997 they said that they were small and nothing to worry about, as they would shrink as I got older. Had my eighth baby in 2001 had changed cection at 37 weeks cause all through my pregnancy they said I had placenta previa. Had my other baby boy in 2003 had to have emergency contact cection they tore my womb and bladder open.was in itu for long time they had to rush me back down 7 30 pm cause I was very ill I had 11 pints of blood transfusion, I have been bleeding since October its now April been to hospital gave me antibiotics in case I had infection been to doctors gave me tablets depo still bleeding feel realy ill don’t know what to do. Xx love zelda xx

  47. shanaldo Says:

    Hi Ladies! Why would you ever just do what your doctor recommends? My OB/GYN wanted to do a hysterectomy…but she referred me to a doctor who performed UFE (uterine fibroid embolization.) This procedure was quick (a few hours), and I began to feel relief after a few days. Surgeon made a small incision in my bikini line (cannot even see it now – surgery was 2/26/2014), fed a catheter up my femoral artery, and then into my uterine artery. From here, he filled up my large fibroids with small plastic balls that starve the fibroid of BLOOD SUPPLY. Shrinking more and more….you cannot even see my fibroids now. (You could before – 39 week uterus!) Fibroids will NOT go away until menopause. No diet, exercise or supplement will fix this problem – but a hysterectomy puts you into menopause IMMEDIATELY. I was back to work in 5 days (could’ve gone back sooner!), and I feel GREAT! Surgery was $13,000 – my portion of insurance was $2648. Best surgery I’ve EVER had, and I highly recommend it!

  48. shanaldo Says:

    By the way…fibroids keep growing regardless. They will cause pain – sit on your bladder, block your intestinal tract, etc. Nothing to mess around with!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

