Blogging about fibroid tumors?

Unusual topic? Not really. As many as three out of four women have uterine fibroids. One in four has tumors that are clinically symptomatic. Uterine fibroids are indeed common which explains the plethora of related sites. I’ve spent the past few months sifting through an incredible number of pages of online information. In the back of my mind, one solitary thought kept popping up. Wouldn’t it be really cool if someone with fibroids blogged about the experience? Full of funny, sometimes heart-warming anecdotal stuff but balanced with nerdy science stuff. Yeah, that would be cool. Hmmmm…

Enter stage right. One inquisitive geek with fibroid tumors.

2 Responses to “Blogging about fibroid tumors?”

  1. Sabrina Sawyer Says:

    Hello,
    My name is Sabrina Sawyer and I have a lot of fibroid tumors. I’m schdule for laparoscopic surgery on July 13, 2006. I have been going through the bleeding in between my periods, back pain, pelvic pain. Also, I had the vaginal and regular ultra sound done. This is how my doctor determined that I needed the surgery done. I have been experiencing a bad vaginal odor and my doctor put me on anties. My only concern is the anesthesia. I get so sick after having to be put to sleep.It would be nice if I had someone that I can talk to that has experience in what I’m about to go through.

  2. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hi Sabrina,
    Sorry to hear what you have been going through but I am glad you are getting help. I have not had laparoscopic surgery but I did have a hysteroscopic procedure on June 7, 2006 to “shave down” a couple of my fibroids. The post-op bleeding and cramping was not bad at all. The general anesthesia was another story. I can relate to your statement because I felt so sick to my stomach afterward. That was the worst part.

    If you like, you can reach me by email.

    Take care.


Comments are closed.

