The death of my new normal

Not long before the end of 2005 (December 30th to be exact), I found myself sitting in a doctor’s office. I was determined not to allow another year of inaction. Cut that kind of close, huh?

Had to approach one of the things I always dreaded…the weigh-in. Standing on that scale, I noticed you can gain a whole lot of weight in a short period of time. Although I am tempted to admit the number, I know my clothing must have added a good 20-30 pounds so it would not be an accurate reading. Yeah, I wish. 🙂 Fortunately, I’ve lost some since then.

Not sure how but I ended up seeing a Nurse Practitioner instead of my regular doctor. That was cool. I just wanted someone to listen and help. That she did. She noticed my pulse was high (93) and that I looked really tired. Wanted me to give a blood sample to check for anemia. She also suggested that I see a gynecologist for further evaluation of my fibroids. I heard her ask if I would be okay with a male doctor. This is where the analytical, open-minded geek was neither. Remembering that bad experience with a male doctor from years ago, the word “no” came out of my mouth. Yes, I know. How absolutely sexist! She assured me that this doctor was very good and would listen so I agreed to go.

I remember (sometime later) my husband asking if I was OK. I hesitated and then said, “No, I’m not”. After years of creating “my new normal” again and again, I was finally able to admit to that this fibroid thing was really abnormal and I needed help to fix it. I cried silently for quite awhile after that.

Posted in Body, Doctors, Family, Fibroids, Gynecologist, Health, Life, Medicine, Mind, Personal, Random Notes, Symptoms, Women's Health. Comments Off on The death of my new normal
