Uterine fibroid tumors and anemia?

Heavy periods resulting from fibroids can lead to iron deficiency anemia. The Mayo Clinic web site has some good information on the signs and symptoms.

General Symptoms of Anemia:

  • Extreme fatigue
  • Pale skin
  • Weakness
  • Shortness of breath
  • Lightheadedness
  • Cold hands and feet

Specific Symptoms of Iron Deficiency Anemia:

  • Inflammation or soreness of your tongue
  • Brittle nails
  • Unusual cravings for non-nutritive substances, such as ice, dirt or pure starch
  • Headache
  • Poor appetite
  • Some people with iron deficiency anemia experience restless legs syndrome— an uncomfortable tingling or crawling feeling in your legs that’s generally relieved by moving them

I suffered from just about every symptom listed in the general category. The fatigue was extreme. I was ALWAYS tired and weak. Walking up just a few steps caused me to become completely winded. EVERY time I stood up, my heart would beat out of my chest and I would feel faint. I was also dealing with a loss in concentration which, for me, was torture. Specifically, headaches were a big problem. Didn’t really suffer from too many before this so I noticed the increase. Also had a weird tingling sensation in my legs that I originally attributed to my fibroids. I now believe I was experiencing restless leg syndrome.

If you have a problem with blood loss and notice these symptoms, seek medical assistance. My anemia forced me to “crawl” in for help. Please don’t wait for your situation to get to that point.

105 Responses to “Uterine fibroid tumors and anemia?”

  1. Thailand Says:

    You know, I have to tell you, I genuinely savour this website and the useful insight. I find it to be refreshing and very educational. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyhow, I finally decided to write a comment on Uterine fibroid tumors and anemia? inquisitive geek with fibroid tumors â„¢ blog – I just wanted to say that you did a sweet job on this. Cheers dude!

  2. Lose Weight Fast and Easy Says:

    Bill, you are absolutely correct, it shows that you’re an authority on the subject. I admire someone that takes the pride you have and with your projecton of information. oSo when i actually do sit down to read material, I appreciate well written and organized blogs like this one. I have it bookmarked and will be back. Thanks.

  3. Leora Says:

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

