It’s a good thing I love spinach

So, after being diagnosed with iron deficiency anemia because of my fibroids, I was left with specific instructions:

  1. Take 65mg ferrous sulfate 3 times a day
  2. Eat plenty of iron-rich foods
  3. Go to the ER for a blood transfusion if symptoms worsen

I took the iron pills and consumed enough spinach to make Popeye proud. Fortunately, I never required a blood transfusion for my anemia.

The American Academy of Family Physicians has a nice site with health information for patients called FamilyDoctor.org. I found the page on anemia quite helpful. It discusses symptoms, causes, foods high in iron, and tips on taking iron pills.

OK. Next stop (quasi-sinister music) – first visit with my new Gynecologist!

Posted in Anemia, Body, Fibroids, Health, Life, Medicine, Personal, Symptoms, Women's Health. Comments Off on It’s a good thing I love spinach
