I’ll take Uterine Fibroid Embolization for $200 Alex

After going over the treatment options, my Gynecologist asked if I had a preference. Since I practically lived on the Web, I knew my answer. I had previously viewed an actual Uterine Fibroid Embolization (UFE) procedure over the Internet and felt most comfortable with this choice. My doctor then explained that would require an MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) and I would then be evaluated by an Interventional Radiologist to determine if I was a candidate. This sounded fine. So, the plan was set into motion.

Just a note about how I make medical decisions. Realizing that it is not always feasible to know exactly what is wrong, I was fortunate, in this case, to have a diagnosis. I visited web sites and viewed video until I arrived at my conclusion. I did my homework and had a ready answer. The second component here was a good doctor. It was important to have someone who asked my opinion, listened to my answer, and followed through with a plan of action.

Definitely a part of that whole mind/body/spirit concept. My body required healing but my mind and spirit had to be OK with any decision. For me, that decision was Uterine Fibroid Embolization.

View an actual UFE procedure

Get more information on UFE

Posted in Body, Diagnosis, Doctors, Fibroids, Gynecologist, Health, Interventional Radiologist, Life, Medical Decisions, Medicine, Mind, MRI, Personal, Spirit, Women's Health. Comments Off on I’ll take Uterine Fibroid Embolization for $200 Alex
