My dang fibroids revealed

Jumped from my seat and joined the Interventional Radiologist standing by the MRI images. He pointed to my fibroids and I was awe-struck. There they were. Irregular masses everywhere. Inside of my uterus. Outside of my uterus. Fascinating but kind of creepy. I knew they would have to go. There was no way I could coexist with these dang uterine fibroid tumors.

The Verdict:
I was a candidate for Uterine Fibroid Embolization (UFE) but required another procedure first.

There is a slight risk of passing fibroid tissue after UFE (from 2-3 percent according to Uterine Fibroid Embolization information at RadiologyInfo.org). This problem is associated with submucosal fibroids located just under the lining of the uterus.

Surgery prior to UFE would take care of my fibroid(s) that posed the greatest risk. So, my IR talked to my GYN and the two of them came up with a plan. Go team!

