That first Lupron injection in February

The ScriptAssist Nurse phoned not long after my first shot. I told her that the injection was not painful and I felt fine. I didn’t really have any questions or concerns at that point. About two weeks after that first shot, I had my period. Not horrible but it was pretty bad. Cramps, clots, lots of blood.

I kind of figured that would happen because there is a temporary increase in estrogen during the first 2 weeks of treatment with Lupron. Remember that whole LH/FSH feedback loop from my other post? Keep this in mind if you are thinking of using Lupron or if you have just started the treatment.

I did not experience any Lupron side effects except headaches and I think those were caused by my anemia. I did continue to spot every day after my period.

*Recap: Had a period (7 days) with clots and cramps about 2 weeks after the injection. Continued to spot every day afterward. Occasional headaches (possibly from anemia).

——————–

Related Posts:
How are you feeling after your Lupron injections? Any side effects?
My second Lupron injection in March
The very last Lupron injection in April

14 Responses to “That first Lupron injection in February”

  1. Saragail Says:

    I’ve just completed my third round of Lupron. It’s been about 1 month and 2 weeks since my last shot, yet I haven’t started my period. It seems like I started almost exactly a month after finishing a round the last two times. I also experienced heavy bleading and frequent periods the first couple of months. It’s been about 3 months now that I haven’t had a period. I’m wondering if I will start or if I could be pregnant. I have infertility issues though, so the second is very unlikely.

  2. eclecticgeek Says:

    Lupron can be beneficial but it’s not perfect. That’s why I posted about my experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to comment on yours. Here is a timeline so you get an idea about Lupron, my periods, and my bleeding:

    1st Lupron Shot – middle of February
    Last multiple day period – end of February
    2nd Lupron Shot – middle of March (continued spotting/bleeding)
    Last Lupron Shot – middle of April (continued spotting/bleeding)
    Spotting/bleeding finally stopped – end of May
    Next multiple day period – end of June

    Time between my last Lupron shot and my period = 10 weeks
    Time between my “periods” while on Lupron = 4 months

    Because Lupron effects are so varied, I can’t say what is normal or not. If you are really concerned, talk to someone. It helped me that I was able to talk to nurses during my adventure.

    Thanks again for visiting/posting and let me know if you have other questions. Take care.

  3. C. Says:

    I took Lupron 4 years ago and am currently searching for information about it. I still suffer memory problems from my 6 months on Lupron. It affects me every day of my life. I write this to help anyone that wants to know about this drug. I wish I never took the drug, but each person has to weigh their own situation.

  4. eclecticgeek Says:

    I’m sorry you had such a negative experience with Lupron and must still deal with it daily. I have a “references” page set up to help with online searching. I hope you find it useful.

    I do appreciate you taking the time to comment. I think it is helpful to hear from all sides. It’s not an easy decision to take Lupron and you are right – each person must weigh risk vs. benefit.

  5. Ruth Says:

    I’m about to start a course of 3 monthly Lupron shots to reduce the size of multiple fibroids (been growing for 7 years now & cannot take it anymore!) in advance of being “zapped” by the new ExAblate treatment. Am reading all your comments to find out what Lupron might be like. Was hoping my nasty periods might stop instantly, but I can see that may not be the case from what I’m reading here! After dealing with freakishly-heavy periods, anemia, no sex-life and a uterus the size of a 5-month pregnancy, I’m way ready to try this new procedure. I’m single, live alone, have no family nearby, self-employed and fear hysterectomy & lengthy re-hab like crazy, so I went for a consult at Virtua in NJ, and although the IR said I’m really pretty big and a “complex case” (requires 2 treatment instead of 1) that with Lupron shrinking everything down over a couple of months I’ll get way more bang for my (considerable) bucks – no insurance covers it. I’m 47, long past childbearing, and have avoided hysterectomy as long as I could until the FDA finally approved ExAblate. Man, am I ever ready!! I will continue to watch for commentary on Lupron on this very useful site; and if anyone is an ExAblate patient – I want to hear from you especially!

  6. EclecticGeek Says:

    Ruth,
    Sorry it took so long for me to respond but I was working on a couple of posts for the Forum:

    How are you feeling after your Lupron injections? Any side effects?
    Does anyone have an experience with ExAblate (MRgFUS)?

    I don’t have a personal experience with ExAblate so hopefully, we’ll get some good responses. In the meantime, the Lupron post has links to just about everything I’ve written here about my Lupron experience.

    I appreciate your visit. Feel free to wander and leave your questions or thoughts.

  7. Debra Richards Says:

    I had a laparoscopic myomectomy in March 2005 to remove multiple fibroid tumors. During my recent annual exam, I wass told that the fibroids have returned along with an ovarian cyst. Surgery is not an option, nor is an embolization. Lupron would be my next option.

    According to my doctor, I’m still in my child bearing years and have healthy ovaries. I haven’t had children but am now seriously considering child birth.

    Would Lupron hinder my ability to get pregnant? Where could I go to get more information regarding this drug?

  8. EclecticGeek Says:

    I have a bunch of posts here about Lupron since I took it for 3 months. The easiest way to find them is to visit the Lupron thread in the Forum:
    How are you feeling after your Lupron injections? Any side effects?

    At the bottom of the thread, you will find all my related posts. Some describe how Lupron works and some are my actual experiences month by month. Read through that and if you still have questions or thoughts, post another comment.

    I did find this quote from FibroidFacts.com (one of the sites I reference in my posts):

    Is it possible to become pregnant while taking Lupron Depot? Yes. If you are sexually active, it is possible to become pregnant while on Lupron Depot.

  9. Tricia Says:

    I am on my first Lupron shot October 16th 2006. I took the shot the first day of my period. My period then only lasted 3 days of a normal 7. I stayed off for 2 weeks then came back on but very different. Wasnt like normal – very brownish with a different odor – very strong odor with very small amounts of brown spotting which lasted about 2 weeks. I havent had anything since.
    Advice #1 – THE ARM INJECTION HURTS…..okay now i have the headaches and the hot flashes are tollerable considering other things in life could be much worse. I am taking Lupron for endo and the pain has totally gone away. I have vaginal dryness but nothing i cant find a temp fix for at my local drug store. I have heard story after story and the internet researching can give u a headache this contradicts that but each person is different. My worry is becoming pregnant. We are using protection but sometimes things happen – some websites say u are not ovulating during ur first injection but other sites say u can become pregnant. Some sites say child can be born with minor to severe defects yet others say child can be born healthy. After today I have decided – no more internet research – what will be will be. So ADVICE #2 – Believe only half of what u see and hear but listen to everything. GOOD LUCK AND BEST TO ALL!!!!!

  10. EclecticGeek Says:

    Tricia,

    I didn’t even know it was offered as an arm injection. Mine were hip injections and not painful at all. As far as pregnancy, I think the possibility would be there. Not everything shuts down completely in every woman. I was on Lupron for 3 months and didn’t stop bleeding completely. I can also see where this would cause possible birth defects. A lot can happen when you change hormone levels.

    I love ADVICE #2. 🙂

    Not sure you will see this since you dropped the Internet research. If you do, thanks for posting and GOOD LUCK and BEST WISHES to you, too!

  11. eileen Says:

    I have been reading some posts about Lupron. I was given the 3-month shot in early October 2006. My abdominal myo was 12/4/06 and was in the hospital for four days.

    I’m feeling a little better 3 months after the surgery…although…I have been experiencing tiredness that I haven’t before. My energy level is much, much lower than it has been.

    The hot flashes have not subsided either. They told me it will go away three months after the first Lupron shot–IT HASN’T! I am not a big fan of these hot flashes–they’re like an electrical surge when you least expect it.

    I’m feeling senile with the memory problems that seems to be happening to me. I used to be superwoman like the rest of ya’ll–coordinating and multitasking work, home, etc. Now, I can’t even remember a conversation I had with someone less than five minutes ago. I’m getting concerned and I don’t know who to talk to about it.

    I’m also having aches and pains in my joints that I haven’t before. I wake up and my whole body feels like I’ve done a major exercise workout the day before and I haven’t.

    My overhang is still there and I’m waiting patiently for it to go down.

    Sorry to rant. I’m trying to embrace my condition and am having a hard time accepting things.

    What scares me is that I’ve been reading that Lupron shuts down all your hormone-producing glands. Your body will never be the same again. I wish I had been given the option to take it or not. I trusted my doctor implicitly.

    Thank you all for listening…

  12. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hi eileen,

    Actually I didn’t consider your comment a rant so no need to apologize. I have another post where women are adding their Lupron experiences:

    How are you feeling after your Lupron injections? Any side effects?

    You will find other information about side effects there.

    I don’t know if you have had any problems with anemia but I’ll direct you here:

    Uterine fibroid tumors and anemia?

    I mention that because I had energy and memory/concentration problems while I was anemic. It’s something you can have checked.

    I had hot flashes and night sweats during my 3 months on Lupron. Not much sweat. Just heat. I had the monthly injections and I think my side effects ended about 2 months after my last injection. That would be about 5 months after my first shot.

    Because you aren’t shutting off estrogen production directly (it’s a negative feedback loop mechanism), you end up with a lot of variability with the side effects. Lupron binds to your anterior pituitary and eventually lowers your estrogen production (after initially raising it for about 2 weeks) by changing luteinizing hormone (LH) and follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) levels. That why I say it’s an indirect mechanism.

    [Once the GnRH agonist (Lupron) is gone, it will still take some time before your estrogen level rises. Remember that you have to return to your normal pattern. Your natural GnRH has to be produced and secreted. It binds to the receptor and LH/FSH is produced and secreted. LH and FSH both travel to the ovary and increase estrogen production.] Think more in terms of a dimmer switch (indirect) instead of a regular on/off light switch (direct). You can read more about it here:

    What the heck is a gonadotropin-releasing hormone agonist?

    [and here:

    Tell me about Lupron, Synarel, and Zoladex (gonadotropin-releasing hormone agonists)]

    You can also check the post-AM “forum” for recovery experiences:

    How are you feeling after you Abdominal Myomectomy? (part 2)

    I really hope you start to feel better soon. Post again if you have additional concerns.

    Take care.

    [Edited by EclecticGeek to add additional information.]

  13. Terri Says:

    Hi eileen, who post on Feb 13, 2007 at 5:53pm

    First what a wonderful site GEEK. Thanks for allowing us to share as women. We need to support each other.

    I hope you are doing ok Eileen. My experience is not a good one with Lupron. I am suffering. It has been 6 months since my last shot (I got six) and the side effects are much worse now. I have all your experiences and more. Extreme bone pain that makes you feel exhausted 80 % of the time like you had a work out- it’s true. Work for me is a challenge now. No one wants to admit that the Lupron does this. So many people can’t be wrong. I struggle everyday since the shots. Hot Flashes, night sweats, painful breast, confusion lack of concentration, memory loss, low labido, extreme bone pain that is so severe I feel like an 80 year old at best. For those of you whoes experience is positive with this drug. Thank God! For the rest of us it is sinful and hell on earth. My life has not been the same. I feel depressed sometimes, not to mention the mood swings, but my positive outlook, supportive friends and faith keeps me going. This drug causes more harm than good. I should know. I live with the side effects EVERYDAY! I am clearly aware of the before and after. IT is NOT in your head. It is happening. I can’t believe how my life has been affected. Please seek other options. know if you can live with this.

    Peace to all.

  14. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hi Terri,

    Glad you found the site!

    I am so sorry you are still struggling with the side effects. Please check this page to find others discussing their experiences:

    How are you feeling after your Lupron injections? Any side effects?

    I think it’s best to be educated about ANY treatment option which is why I created this site. Here are two pages that clearly explain the mechanism of Lupron and other gonadotropin-releasing hormone agonists:

    What the heck is a gonadotropin-releasing hormone agonist?

    Tell me about Lupron, Synarel, and Zoladex (gonadotropin-releasing hormone agonists)

    Talk to your doctor about getting your hormone levels checked. Here are links that explain the tests:

    The Estrogen Test

    They may also order estrone and/or estradiol if you are having hot flashes, night sweats, insomnia, and/or amenorrhea, symptoms of menopause.

    The Follicle-stimulating Hormone (FSH) Test

    Low levels of FSH and LH are due to a pituitary or hypothalamic problem.

    The Luteinizing Hormone (LH) Test

    Best wishes with getting those things checked. Take care.


Comments are closed.

