The very last Lupron injection in April

Nothing major occurred during my last injection. Talked to the ScriptAssist Nurse about the spotting. Not concerned. Just a little disappointed that the bleeding hadn’t stopped. Had to play my “fibroid theme” a bunch of times to get through this last month.

So, I still spotted every day. Still played the crazy lottery of not knowing if I would just spot that day or bleed or what. I noticed if I did bleed, I would have cramps. I passed huge clots in March without any cramps. Now in April, I passed tiny clots and experienced pain. That was kind of backwards. Could tell my estrogen level was dropping because I definitely experienced hot flashes. Didn’t sweat a whole lot but the heat was intense. Fortunately, they only lasted a few minutes.

I was sure this would be my last Lupron injection. No more feeling faint. No more rapid heartbeat. I had tons of energy. I could sense my recovery from anemia.

*Recap: Continued to spot every day. Passed tiny clots with cramps on several occasions. Hot flashes. No sweat but yes, they were hot!

——————–

Related Posts:
How are you feeling after your Lupron injections? Any side effects?
That first Lupron injection in February
My second Lupron injection in March

12 Responses to “The very last Lupron injection in April”

  1. Babs Says:

    I just found out that I will have to go through all of this. I have some questions. Do you have to take the Lupron through injections? Do you have to take it on certain days of your cycle? AND How long after last injection of Lupron do I have to wait to have the fibroids removed? If anyone can help with these questions I would be very appreciative…..I have 2 weeks until I see my doc again and I am getting real curious and anxious!!!
    Babs

  2. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hi Babs,

    I have a post that lists everything that I’ve written about Lupron. See the Related Posts at the end:
    How are you feeling after your Lupron injections? Any side effects?

    Lupron is only available by injection. Mine were in my hip. I think a visitor here had injections in her arm. I was on Lupron for 3 months. I had a choice of one injection that lasted 3 months or 3 injections that lasted 1 month each. I picked the 3 injections.

    If you choose the monthly injections, once you start, you have to get that next injection within a small window of time. My doctor’s office was really helpful in reminding me about appointments.

    I think the scheduling of your surgery might depend on the type of surgery. Check with your doctor about that. I can tell you about my case. I had my last injection the middle of April and had my Hysteroscopic Myomectomy on June 7.

    If you have other questions, please post.

  3. Babs Says:

    Did you have to take the injections on certain days of your cycle? I go in on the 12th which will be day 3 of cycle and I don’t want him to tell me we have to wait til next month because it has to be on day 1 of my cycle. Does that make sense….I am trying to avaoid anymore delays. Thans fo so much wonderful info….you have done a great service with this web site!

  4. EclecticGeek Says:

    Babs,

    I don’t remember the timing of my first injection (certain day of cycle) to be an issue. (Keep in mind I was also very anemic around the beginning of this year so lack of blood to the brain then might account for me not remembering now.) Anyway, I checked the Lupron site and my Pharmacology book for prescribing information and neither mentions starting Lupron on a certain day.

    My advice:
    Your question makes complete sense so give your doctor a call and ask if it matters that you will be on day 3 of your cycle. If it turns out that it matters, you can reschedule and make the appointment earlier.

    Thanks for your kind words about the site! Let me know if you have other concerns.

  5. Ellen Says:

    I just got my first injection on Wednesday, the 3rd of Dec. I was told it only needed to be during my period to make sure that I wasn’t pregnant. It didn’t seem to matter what day. In fact he (my Dr.) almost allowed me to have it last month when he thought I had just ended my period, but then changed his mind and made me wait. Not worth a law suit I guess.

    I’m getting Lupron injections to shrink a “world champion size” fibroid in the hopes that I will avoid an abdominal hysterectomy. Apparently my uterus is measuring the equivalent of a 5-6 month pregnancy. The largest fibroid (there are at least 3) is 22cm x 15cm x 10 cm. Yes, I’m contemplating maternity clothes!

    My question is about success at shrinking these things. I’ve read on the Lupron website that it’s a 50% chance of shrinking 25%. My Dr. said his success rate in his practice is much higher. I was wondering about anyone’s personal experiences. According to my Dr. if it shrinks down to a “3-month size pregnancy” he can remove it vaginally. Is it worth waiting and taking Lupron? What do you think?

  6. BHU Says:

    Ellen,

    I’m also carrying a 5+ month uterus. My uterine dimensions are 21cmX44cmX51cm. Because of the size, the only option I was originally given by my first doc was an abdominal hysterectomy with a vertical (not bikini line) incision. My second opinion doc suggested that Lupron could shrink the uterus enough to at least be able to perform the bikini incision, if not a vaginal. I’m going to continue treatment with doc #2 and take the Lupron injections to see how it will shrink. To me it will be worth it to have the least invasive procedure possible.

  7. Ellen Says:

    BHU,

    WOW! How are you feeling? Did you think you were just gaining weight for a while like I did? It seems silly sometimes that I’m so anxious to get this thing out even though it must have been growing for some time. But I literally look pregnant now and my clothes don’t fit. I think that just in the month and a half since my sonogram which is how I got the measurements, it’s grown more. Visibly more. My husband says when I’m lying in my back he can really see it. I also have a lot of indigestion like when I was pregnant too.

  8. EclecticGeek Says:

    Ellen:
    I’ll direct you to this thread that has Lupron experiences:
    How are you feeling after your Lupron injections? Any side effects?

    It will come down to you weighing the pros (e.g. less-invasive surgery) and cons (e.g. Lupron side effects). Because I was on Lupron for 3 months, I have a number of posts here that talk about it. You can see a list of them in that link I included (at the bottom in the Related Posts area right before any comments). Read the other posts and ask questions here but also talk over your concerns with your doctor. Like BHU mentioned, the possibility of a less invasive surgery is definitely a plus.

    BHU:
    Best wishes with the Lupron injections. Although I took it mostly to correct my anemia enough for surgery, let me know if you have any questions once you start (especially any side effects).

  9. Babs Says:

    I had my first injection on Dec 8th….I have several (but 2 fair size fibroids) in the walls of my uterus but I have one growing on the backside of my uterus …pedunculated or growing on a stem. It is the size of my uterus and causes me GREAT discomfort and sometimes pain that get worse every month. It pushes on my spine and makes my back and side hurt like hell when it swells or grows. I decided on the Lupron because I decided that time is very important to me….I want these things OUT. I am not happy when I am miserable and therefore am not a happy person to be around. When it’a bad that is 3 weeks a month. I am 32 and we have been trying to get pregnant for 3 1/2 years. I have decided life is to short to be this miserable and I can’t wait any longer to see if I am ever gonna be able to have babies!!!!!

    I am already getting forgetful and hot flashes. Oh boy am I excited…HAHA…BUT at least now I have an end in site….I am planning my myomectomy for the last week of March and I want to be pregnant at the end of summer!!!! GOD willing!

  10. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hi Babs,

    Sorry you’ve been through so much with your symptoms. Happy to hear you have a treatment plan.

    I don’t know if you’ve wandered into the Forum yet but it lists posts where women are talking about their post-op experiences. Here are a couple:
    How are you feeling after your Laparoscopic Myomectomy?
    How are you feeling after your Abdominal Myomectomy?

    Best wishes with your Fibroid Master Plan! 🙂

  11. Ruth Says:

    Just had my last (4th) Lupron injection today. The shots hurt like hell every time – burning as it goes in – seems like my body really doesn’t like the stuff at all. Then a very sore arm for a day or two. I now have 28 days to get my ExAblate performed – tentatively scheduled for mid-Jan. after they review my MRI to be done on Jan. 3rd. I hope to god these things have shrunk some!! I’m kind of concerned that I’ve had no menopausal symptoms at all other than very light bleeding (rather than constant gushing.) And, when I get close to the end of a cycle & ready for the next injection, I start bleeding again. Last night I delivered 3 thumb-sized clots (no cramps, strangley.) Makes me wonder if Lupron is really doing anything in there, or if I am so full of estrogen that even Lupron cannot shut it off! Funny thing – never felt like a “girly-girl” and yet seem to have too much estrogen for my own good – how ironic. We’ll see the results in 2 weeks, I guess. Hoping 4 months of this stuff was good for something! Was pretty curious about the hot flashes, but maybe I’m not going to have any after all – my mom said her menopause was pretty uneventful. Guess I shouldn’t go asking for trouble…

    I’ll check back in after we look at my MRI results on the 3rd. Happy Holidays to everyone & wishing us all a better year ahead, free of fibroids!!

  12. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hi Ruth,

    Your last injection. Yay! Women have different reactions to lower levels of estrogen. There’s such a range of what can happen when it comes to Lupron side effects.

    You are too funny! I’m also not a “girly-girl”. Oh, I “clean up” well but still consider myself an old tomboy. It is pretty ironic when you think about it.

    Happy Holidays to you and best wishes! Looking forward to hearing from you soon.


Comments are closed.

