My Uterine Fibroid Embolization is today!

In just a few hours actually. Really need to go to sleep soon.

I’m excited about the UFE. Happy to FINALLY be in Phase 3 of my treatment. I must spend the night at the hospital and away from my computer. Gasp. How will I ever survive? 🙂

I hear this procedure can produce quite a bit of pain as the fibroids die. I’m going to stay positive and see myself on the other side. Vaulting over the bladder catheter, the procedure, the pain, and the recovery right to the relief of my fibroid symptoms.

The Geek is signing off now. Will meet you back here very soon!

8 Responses to “My Uterine Fibroid Embolization is today!”

  1. jo Says:

    good luck. my thoughts are with you today. (18/07)
    thanks for the updates and all the great info and look forward to hearing from you soon.

  2. EclecticGeek Says:

    I really appreciate the well wishes. UFE went very well. At this point (one day later), I just have mild cramps and the site of the small incision is tender. I’ll fill in the details with my posts over the next couple of days. So glad you find my blog helpful. Working on getting it more organized so stay tuned for plenty of updates.

    Thanks for visiting! 🙂

  3. Gayle Says:

    Just had my UFE July 20. Age 52, had fibroids removed 16 yrs ago via myomectomy. I totally underestimated level of pain. thought I’d be able to go back to work after 5 days. Ended up taking entire week off after, going back this Monday. Hospital personnel were intent on getting me out ASAP day after. People who put IV’s in my hands (yes both) need to back for remidial training. Both hands swelled up the day after I got home. Major IV sight turned black & blue. Other hand got an IV for fluids because of vomitting and dehydration. Anyway, pain first few days was intense, I ony took 2 of the Motrin 600’s per day for 3 days. Afraid of percosets. Decided to go drug free on 4th day, since I’d need to eventually. Actually went through drug withdrawal, chills and all. Since then its been better, I get stronger every day, although my midsection still does not feel right. Need to get my system back in order. Energey level still low, could it just be the 90+ degree heat? Hopefully I am just too impatient, and in another week will feel much better. Hope your experience went well.

  4. EclecticGeek Says:

    I’m sorry you’ve been in so much pain but I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I’m just starting to post about what happened to me. I agree about the drug withdrawal. That surprised me. Haven’t been in that much pain from the procedure but my gut lock-up problem bothered me for days. Won’t take simple things like digestion for granted anymore.

    Happy to hear you are feeling stronger every day. Stay out of that heat when you can. It’s insanely hot (and humid!) here, too. I’m glad the procedure part for you is over and done. Hope your full recovery is right around the corner.

  5. BaRBara Says:

    Hi,
    its july 31 – and i was wondering how you are doing.
    hopefully well and healthy and finished with this fibroid stuff. my journey has just begun. i was interested in everything you had to say. you had one ufe? one myomectomy? where the doctor shaved a fibroid? are you anemic at all? iknow you have been eating a diet rich in iron but are you on supplements? i have three large ones — fibroids — intramurally or whatever. i am on iron supplements. i have said no to lupron before the myomectomy – so he said NO to my myomectomy. had mri for mayo to do the mri assisted ablation and chickened out. i don’t want a hysterectomy. i am 50 and waiting for extreme case of menopause to hit me. where these devils shrink for evva. i have seen five gynees. i don’t like any of them. none will tell me I can live with them for awhile longer. i wonder if there is something they aren’t telling me?
    take good care.

  6. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hi,
    I have a couple of post-op appointments this week with my doctors to make sure all is okay but I feel great. Working on getting this blog more organized so it will be easier to find stuff.

    The easiest way to find posts right now is to use the search box near the top to the right. Type in embolization, myomectomy, lupron, iron pills, anemia, or anything else that comes to mind and you’ll get the posts related to that topic.

    I guess I need to add a timeline page or maybe put this summary on my “About” page: (This will probably be pretty long.)

    I turned 40 this year. Not long after I turned 30, my periods became outrageous. Heavy bleeding and bad cramps. Explained to my GYN that because of family history, my problems were probably fibroid related. Too bad they could not be detected by ultrasound at that point. Doctor wouldn’t listen so I walked away figuring I could deal with it on my own. So, for YEARS, I dealt with it. Symptoms got worse and after passing enormous clots, I thought I should seek medical assistance. Got another ultrasound in 2004 and (surprise, surprise) fibroids were detected. I was so angry from being right that, once again, I walked away even though my new doctor was really trying to help. Yes, I can be stubborn and crazy sometimes. Continued to cope until I felt so weak and sick that I crawled back into my doctor’s office at the end of 2005. Anemia? Oh, yes! Hemoglobin was 6.7. I was put on iron supplements and sent to a GYN. At that point, I knew the fibroids had to go. They were producing such severe blood loss that I was now non-functional.

    I am so fortunate to have great doctors. We came up with a plan and I really mean we. I wanted ufe but had a couple of fibroids that would possibly cause problems. They were submucosal and produced a risk of infection post-ufe if they died and detached but did not pass from my body. That’s why I needed a myomectomy. The fibroids were on the inside so my gyn just used the opening nature created. No additional holes were necessary. He just shaved those fibroids (~60-70%). The anemia was so bad that I couldn’t have the surgery until it improved. My gyn put me on Lupron and Chromagen® Forte iron pills before the myomectomy to help. So, three months of Lupron + iron supplements (Feb, Mar, Apr), one Hysteroscopic Myomectomy (Jun 7), and one UFE (Jul 18) later, I really do feel great.

    I completely understand your hesitation. What worked for me was realizing I could no longer function with the fibroids. They were impacting me physically, mentally, and spiritually. It was just too high a price for me to continue to pay. I felt faint and weak all day long every single day. I knew I had to do something to move forward and I definitely could not go back. I gathered information, weighed the options, and embraced a decision. I won’t tell you to run right out and get this fixed because you have to decide how you want to handle your health for yourself. Just know that you do have options and PLEASE make sure you are managing your anemia. Not trying to scare you but it can get severe. Keep an eye on it.

    Thanks for stopping by and checking on me. I am happy with my treatment decisions. They were not always easy but well worth it. Let me know if you have other questions or concerns. I wish you well on your journey.

  7. Al Says:

    Hello it’s Al! This is my first time posting. I had my UFE on July 26th. The Interventional Radiologist were wonderful. Unfortunatly, I woke up to a migraine and NO ONE would listen to me (Military teaching facility). After being in the hospital for 2 nights I finally got the attention of a case manager who heard my cry and understood that my nause, vomitting, and tears had nothing to do with my procedures. I asked the charge nurse for hours “give me 6 hours of silence in a dark cold room, and I will give you a hospital bed thats ready for a patient who deserves it”, but no one listened. Anywho 6 days after the surgery and I feel wonderful! I have no pain, very little tenderness at the incision site. I mowed the lawn, registered my 9th grader for high school and immunization shots. I know I probably over did it, but 6 hours later and I still feel good.

  8. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hey Al!
    Minus the migraine, it sounds like you had a positive UFE experience. Glad to hear you are doing so well. You mowed your lawn! Wow.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting. That’s what I like about a web log. As much as I love posting my ramblings, the comments always touch me. I want to hear about other experiences (the good, the bad, and the ugly). I really do appreciate every comment and every visit.

    I’m afraid to ask about your next plans. Building a house? Flying to the moon? 😉 Best wishes to you. Take care.


Comments are closed.

