Weird notebook scribblings from a hospital bed (day 1)

Slightly hesitant about posting this but what’s the point of having a blog if you can’t share a modicum of craziness now and again. Oh, I know what you’re thinking:

Geek, your WHOLE blog is a modicum of craziness.

Okay. I agree. Back to the topic. Remember one of the items I dragged to the hospital before my Uterine Fibroid Embolization was a composition notebook. Used it to jot down stuff so my posts would be at least partially objective. Well, after reading parts of it, there is no doubt that I am certifiably odd.

It started the day of the procedure. Once I settled into my room, started rubbing my Buddha and recording observations. First thing I analyzed was my room number. I’m a firm believer that signs, symbols, and numbers have meaning. Not obsessed by it but I do notice.

4224. Did the whole “4+2+2+4=12 and 1+2=3” thing and was happy by the result. I liked the number 3. To me, it signified mind/body/spirit and also the number of sides in a triangle. A triangle (Delta) represented change and change, in this case, was good. That’s as far as I took it. No big revelation of destiny because I would have found meaning in any number but it was pretty cool that it turned out to be 3.

Next thought. A flower popped into my brain so I drew it. Normally think of hearts. I can always find several scattered throughout my notes. A flower with 7 petals was peculiar.

Tossed around the hypothesis that I was perhaps not quite human and recorded a few observations to substantiate my claim:

  1. the nurses had trouble finding my veins to insert the IV
  2. a Doppler probe had to be used to find a pulse in each of my feet
  3. I could not seem to get warm
  4. my husband was an undertaker

(#4 probably had more to do with my husband specifically and not that he was a mortician.)

One of the last things I scribbled before the UFE was a message to my fibroids. I acknowledged that I loved them because they were a part of me but they had to take one for the team. I could no longer function with them so the fibroids had to die. I asked that they not fight back. Just to die quietly and not cause much pain.

Also had several thoughts the day after…

Posted in Body, Fibroids, Health, Life, Medicine, Mind, Minimally or Non-Invasive, Personal, Random Notes, Spirit, Treatment, Uterine Fibroid Embolization, Women's Health. Comments Off on Weird notebook scribblings from a hospital bed (day 1)
