My condition one month post-Uterine Fibroid Embolization

Thought I would post about what I am observing approximately one month after my Uterine Fibroid Embolization on July 18th. Some things might not be related but I’ll list them anyway.

  1. Swelling of the calf, ankle, and foot on my right side. Off and on. I’m pretty sure this isn’t related. It started the end of last week a couple of days after I began exercising again. Should have eased back into it but I didn’t.
  2. Really hungry. Two days ago. Once again, probably not related. I would eat something every couple of hours but it seemed to evaporate not long after consumption. My stomach was growling like crazy.
  3. Headaches. Yesterday and the day before. Not serious enough for me to take anything but significant enough to notice. I feel this is related to the next two on the list.
  4. Backache. Past couple of days. OK. See where I’m going? Starting to sound like the start of a…period. Yep.
  5. Light cramping and spotting. This started yesterday. Pain was slight so I skipped any medication. Bleeding was also slight.

Today, the cramps were more painful but still a far cry from my previous “monster cramps”. Checking one of those pain assessment scales, I rated the cramps just a little above a 3. Ended up taking two 200mg Motrin about 7 hours ago and the pain is still gone. Bleeding is light (a notch above spotting). Reasonable so far. Will keep you updated.

——————–

Related Posts:
Two weeks after my Uterine Fibroid Embolization
UPDATE: My condition two months post-Uterine Fibroid Embolization
UPDATE: My condition three months post-Uterine Fibroid Embolization
UPDATE: My condition four months post-Uterine Fibroid Embolization
UPDATE: My condition five months post-Uterine Fibroid Embolization

10 Responses to “My condition one month post-Uterine Fibroid Embolization”

  1. Aly Fibroids Says:

    I’m two weeks and four days post embolization today, September 11, 2006. (Mine was August 23, 2006). I also have been having backaches, but I have a feeling it might be from the 40 inch waist that I now have. Do you have trouble with swelling/bloating? That’s the one thing that’s driving me nuts. The first week I was running a bit of a fever and other mild post-embolization syndrome stuff, but other than that, I don’t think I’m noticing anything. I still have to pee all the time (actually it’s harder to go now than before — it doesn’t seem to want to come out), but my constipation seems to be clearing up. So, all may not be lost. Keep posting every single thing you’re going through because I am absolutely starved for other women’s experience with UFE.

  2. EclecticGeek Says:

    Here’s the link to the post that describes my first period:
    Gosh… My period turned out to be a question mark!

    I just had my second period. Only lasted 3 days, cramps weren’t bad, and the bleeding was light. Yay! I’ll get a post up about it with the details. Backaches are gone. I had a slight one before the start of my period but I don’t have them every single day like I did before. The only swelling is in my right calf/ankle/foot when I exercise. It is getting better, the more I work out. I forgot about the “pee issue”. That has also improved. I used to get up 2-3 times at night. Now, I don’t get up at all. Constipation was a problem for me post-UFE but that cleared.

    I’ll keep posting the updates and continue organizing this place so women can get their hands on more info and experiences.

  3. Julia Says:

    Did anyone have really sharp pains right behind their navel after their UFE? Like someone’s poking you with a hot poker from behind your navel. Especially when urinating? My doctor said it was probably irritation from the foley catheter in my bladder, but it didn’t start right away.

  4. EclecticGeek Says:

    Julia,
    I started another thread in the Forum for post-UFE stuff. Gave it a clear title so all can find it:
    How are you feeling after your Uterine Fibroid Embolization?

    This should attract some good comments.

  5. Nancy Says:

    Hello!
    I am strongly considering having UFE. My gynecologist suggested a hysterectomy based on the fact that my 4 small fibroids are causing major bleeding during my periods…enough that I was severely anemic before starting on iron pills. I am very interested in any information I could get from any of you who have been through this procedure. Just from the few posts I’ve read here, it sounds like UFE could be exactly what I’m looking for! I’m 49 years old, but I still hate the idea of major surgery like hysterectomy to take care of a problem that is really bad only one day each month. My periods last about 6-7 days, but the really bad bleeding is only for one day.
    Thanks for any help any of you can give me!

  6. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hi,

    Please see these posts for UFE information and my experience:
    What to expect from a Uterine Fibroid Embolization
    The UFE Experience. Wasn’t that a band during the 70s?
    Memories right before my Uterine Fibroid Embolization
    Memories directly after my Uterine Fibroid Embolization

    This one has recovery info and experiences:
    How are you feeling after your Uterine Fibroid Embolization?

    I have tons of other posts but these will get you started. 😉

    Anemia is what caused me to finally seek help. I didn’t want major surgery and that’s why I picked UFE. Keep posting if you have additional questions or concerns. Thanks for visiting.

  7. Kulvinder Says:

    Hi

    I had my UAE on the 16 Nov 2006.

    My first period was on the 3rd Nov and was a blood bath.

    My second period was on the 28 Nov and was moderate but the cramps on the right side was like walking around with someone stabbng me with a dagger dipped in acid.

    I was due to start o new job and that has been put on hold.

    I am angry as the UAE seems to not have improved my condition. My belly feels bruised and I walk around bent over most of the time.

    I wondered if any of you have had similar symtons post UAE.

  8. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hi Kulvinder,

    I’m sorry you are still experiencing such pain. The UAE recovery will vary depending on the size, location, and number of your fibroids. The procedure blocks the blood supply to the fibroids. Sometimes it takes months for them to shrink and die.

    Please see this post for more recent UAE experiences:
    How are you feeling after your Uterine Fibroid Embolization?

    I think you posted there before but more women see that post than this one so you will get more answers. I know it’s frustrating but keep posting and let us know how you’re doing.

  9. kim Says:

    My doctor said the first period will be no different. But each period will get better. He also said it takes time.

    Be patient.

  10. EclecticGeek Says:

    Patience is not always easy but often necessary.

    Thanks for the good advice kim!


Comments are closed.

