Is there a natural alternative therapy or treatment for uterine fibroids?

This question comes up frequently. From a recent comment:

Charlotte: Has anybody but ANYBODY managed to heal themselves of fibroids naturally?

Let me first leave some general information to assist you in evaluating products. The National Institutes of Health has a center that deals with alternative medicine:

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)

Here are two pages I find particularly helpful:

How do I evaluate alternative treatments?
If I see this (or anything similar) associated with the product:

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

and a search on Google Scholar or PubMed produces NO studies conducted using the product, I cross it off my list.

So, you haven’t found any information on natural therapies?

I did find something on WebMD while looking for general fibroid stuff. There’s an article that discusses vitamins, herbs, stress reduction and the role of your liver in conjunction with fibroids. If you scroll to the bottom of page 3, you’ll see a section called “What to Eat” with the vitamin information. Herbs are on page 4. Cannot recommend the supplements per se but I will pass along the information.

My advice:

Read through the WebMD info. Check out the supplements using sites like Medline Plus or NCCAM. Search on PubMed, PubMed Central, or Google Scholar if you want to find research papers on these supplements and their effects on fibroid growth. (Finding papers in this area would be exciting indeed.)

Diet and Fibroids (WebMD)
Herbs and Fibroids (WebMD)
Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information (Medline Plus)
Dietary and Herbal Supplements (NCCAM)
PubMed
PubMed Central
Google Scholar

For those interested in herbal supplements, remember to do your research and talk to a health care professional before making any changes. I also suggest finding licensed practitioners of alternative medicine.

Here is a link to search for certified practitioners as well as the mission of NCCAOM:

National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM)

The mission of the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) is to establish, assess, and promote recognized standards of competence and safety in acupuncture and Oriental medicine for the protection and benefit of the public.

Let me also mention that alternative treatments are treatments. Be careful of herb/drug interactions:

The Interactions of Herbs and Drugs
Interesting because there’s also a little history in this article.

Checking for Possible Herb-Drug Interactions

Use of Complementary/Integrative Nutritional Therapies During Cancer Treatment: Implications in Clinical Practice
Don’t be alarmed by me sticking in this reference to cancer treatment. It has good tables that group supplements according to their various properties (coagulants, anticoagulants, laxatives, etc.) so I wanted to include it. Scroll down about halfway.

In general, I do believe in alternative medicine but I hold it up to the same standard as traditional medicine. Prove that it works (safely and effectively) and I’ll use it.

Now, let’s hear about your experiences with alternative therapies. I welcome all comments.

——————–

Related Posts:
Can I change my diet to help with fibroids?
If soy contributes to fibroid growth, I’m in trouble…

261 Responses to “Is there a natural alternative therapy or treatment for uterine fibroids?”

  1. L Torres Says:

    Just leaving a comment for those who may read this at a later time. I had a wonderful doctor who removed my fibroids with a myomectomy. They were the size of a six month pregnancy, he had successfuly treated fibroids that were much larger. If your going to have a myomectomy find a doctor who does the proceedure all the time, you might wish to find a reproductive endocrynologist (as mine was) in particular because they are focused on these types of things. My doctor was able to do it with a 2.5″ horizontal incision even though my fibroids were large weighing about 5 lbs.

    He is an expert in this field and told me that you never get the same fibroid back. Fibroids are muscles that begin to grow. When they remove a particlular fibroid its gone and you don’t get that one back. If you get another fibroid its new. He said they didn’t know why but some women are good at growing fibroids, and some never have ones again.

    I’ve also learned that the radiology treatment should only be done if you don’t want to have more children because it makes you a very high risk pregancy. Both that doctor and others have told me this, but I do plan to use that when I don’t plan on having more children, because I still have some fibroids. They seem small to me because the others were so large and are growing at a considerably slower rate than the other ones did.

    I have heard many things around diet, avoid sugar and animals raised with hormones. Perhaps this is true. I think these things are worth exploring. I think its good to have a clear strong liver, because thats what clears hormones and keeps them in balance.

  2. Mary Stewart Says:

    As i read this article i realize that liver is so very importany that we should not be taken for granted. It plays a big role to our health to be balanced. I believe if have a good liver we can avoid those fibroids and other ovarian diseases. Thank you for posting this and all the best for you.

  3. Jenny Jo Says:

    I’ve had fibroids for a couple of years but they just recently started giving me problems: Extended stomach, bloating, really bad period symptoms, & fatigue. I got an ultrasound on Monday of last week and find out the results on Tuesday of this week. I’d rather not have surgery, so this is what I am trying: castor oil packs, iodine supplements (look up iodine and fibroids!), vit. E supplements, blackstrap molasses, maca root, acupuncture 2x/week, and some herbal tinctures including burdock root, black cohosh, reishi, and milk thistle. Gave up coffee and started drinking tea instead. I’ve been feeling awful for the past two weeks, and my digestion has been really sluggish. I read something on line about coffee enemas (I know! But I’m desperate!) and I tried one this morning. It was the best thing so far. Today was the first day that I felt really good. Google search it, there is some crazy science behind it.

    I really am starting to understand that having sluggish digestion makes it harder on the liver, because toxins get reabsorbed before they can be eliminated. If the liver is overloaded, it can’t process estrogen. Herbs that stimulate the liver (such as milk thistle) are great, but if the body’s digestion isn’t functioning optimally then reabsorption occurs. It’s also important to get good blood circulation. It’s hard to exercise when I’m feeling so fatigued, but maca helps.

    The cool thing about the coffee enemas it is a cheap treatment. I’ve dropped some dollars on all these herbs and supplements. Over the past two weeks I feel that the iodine, castor oil packs, and coffee enemas have had the most noticeable impact. Also I should mention that I am already a vegetarian and eat organic, don’t use synthetic products and watch my exposure to chemicals.

    I’ll keep you posted as to my progress and treatment course. Good luck and stay positive.

    • Maria E Says:

      Hi Jenny, thanks for sharing all that information, it is really kind of you. Actually I am not doing too bad myself from the time I posted my fibroid problem, though the fibroids are taking their time, they dont bother me at all (i rather keep them than undergo surgery). Well, what I have done is family constellation work (developed by Bert Hellinger), I highly recommend it to any one. Fibroids are related with abortions in previous generations, and family constellations really help, people report reductions in fibroid size afterwards (I haven’t monitored my fibroids for years, all I know is they don’t bother me). Hope this helps.

  4. ensatina Says:

    NOTE this site is broken! You need to fix many of the links to go to the correct pages!!

    HERE IS THE TRICK TO SEE THE CORRECT LINKS:
    Click on a link, check the address bar, if it doesn’t include “wordpress” you need to add it and click again and you will get through. Apparently I can’t place a link in here to show you, but just add “wordpress” without the quotation marks and make sure you add a period – one is needed on either side of .wordpress.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

