I’ll add “my health” to the list of things for which I am thankful…

Will keep this brief. I’m seeing my people for the holiday so being bathed and clothed today is mandatory.

Vastly different last year. My existence was darkly colored by anemia. I was tired and weak and lightheaded. The funny thing was that I decided to cook. Couldn’t stand for more than 15 minutes at a time but I cooked. Yeah, I know. I’m totally crazy. This year, I have plenty of blood and energy but didn’t fix jack. My husband just returned with our “reserved” cooked Thanksgiving dinner.

One reason for not cooking is because I really wanted to make some changes to the site and have been busy with that. Another because I am truly happy this year. I know I cooked so much last year just to cheer myself up. I’m an emotional eater and food makes me EXTREMELY happy.

I no longer need food for that reason. Oh, please don’t get me wrong. I do plan on eating well and I will be happy as I consume the savory morsels. I just won’t eat to make myself happy.

Every year, I am thankful for my wonderful and supportive family. They always make me feel so loved even through the rough times. On top of that, I have more things on my “thankful” list this year:

  • my good health
  • the great doctors, nurses, and medical staff who all helped me during a difficult period
  • this site where I can talk about fibroids to any and all who will listen
  • the women who continue to visit here and leave comments (I really do appreciate every visit and every comment.)

So, this year, I’ll deeply reflect on all of my blessings and be joyous… and then I’ll eat!

To all who read this: Have a Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

3 Responses to “I’ll add “my health” to the list of things for which I am thankful…”

  1. EclecticGeek Says:

    With the cooked Thanksgiving dinner, you do have to actually unwrap the turkey and heat it up. So, what did EclecticGeek do? She took the whole thing to her parent’s house and stuck it in their oven! This was planned. Daddy cooked a leg of lamb and made gravy. I brought everything else (turkey + sides + dessert). Nice little day trip.

    Pre-cooked dinners rock! Everything was delicious and I could spend time with everyone – hubby, Mommy, Daddy, one sib (my sis), an aunt (Dad’s sis), Rocky (the dog), and Birdeau (the bird).

    I am so thankful for my odd family! 😀

  2. fibroid free Says:

    I’ll add to your thoughts . Was very thankful for GOOD health this year ..This time last year is when everything started to go down hill for me. Last year I had my mom in law (“mom” ) for Thanksgiving (for the first time) and my husbands family come to visit along with my own family. I cooked this HUGH spread and did it all and we ran around and showed them our city and I was miserable (with the happy face on the whole time) Feet and hands swole (yup swole) heavy period, back pain…but I keep going. This year – my entire life is different…no misery and health is good. Life IS good when the fibroids are gone!

  3. EclecticGeek Says:

    You are right. It really is different when your health is good. I’m going to stand up now and do a “happy dance” for you. Yay!

    Okay. I’m back. Glad you had a much better Thanksgiving this year! 😀


Comments are closed.

