Another meeting with the debonair fibroid doctor

That would be my Interventional Radiologist (AKA Batman). I had my 6-month post-UFE MRI on last Wednesday. Stay tuned for that post because the experience was pretty funny. Remember my first MRI? Much better this time.

So, I saw my IR on yesterday. The rest of this post is taken directly from a comment I left on one of my update posts in response to Aly Fibroids who just HAD to know my results:

I was so excited because I KNEW everything had to be smaller. I feel so well. Things just must look better inside.

The new images were on a computer. You know I’m a geek and had to resist the temptation to grab the mouse from my doctor and then click on stuff and play with the software. It’s just too cool!

My old images from a year ago are still on film and my IR didn’t have them with him. I’ll call in a couple of days to get a more direct comparison but from the written MRI report… (insert drumroll)

My uterus was 8 x 9 x 6.5 cm.
It is now 7.4 x 5.5 x 5.9 cm.
Heck, yeah!

Okay, this is where it gets a little fuzzy. I asked Doc how big were my fibroids. He gave me some numbers:
submucosal – 4.7 cm, 3.7 cm, multiple ones that were 2 cm
subserosal – 6 cm

The report said my largest fibroid is now 3.9 x 4 cm. I’m thinking that’s the 6 cm subserosal one but I won’t be sure until I talk to my IR again. We did look through the new computerized images. He only found two submucosal ones now – 3.6 x 3.8 cm and 1.2 cm. The subserosal one is still there but I didn’t get a measurement.

CONCLUSION: Decreased overall volume of uterus and fibroids. Fibroids demonstrating predominant cystic necrosis.

Do the happy dance. The fibroids are dying!

[Edited to add: I talked to my IR after he had a chance to compare the old images (January 20, 2006) to the new ones (January 31, 2007). My UFE was performed on July 18, 2006. Here are the more accurate numbers. I had several fibroids before my UFE. Now (6 months later), only 3 are visible.]

Subserosal (was originally smaller than I thought)
Then – 4 x 3 cm
Now – 3.6 x 1.9

Submucosal
Then – 5 x 4.5 cm, not sure about the size of the smaller one
Now – 3.6 x 3.8 cm, 1.2 cm

The previous multiple smaller submucosal fibroids are no longer visible.

It’s official. My UFE was extremely successful That’s why I feel great. Yay! Can’t wait until my next measurement 6 months from now.

😎

——————–

Related Posts:
How do I find a good local fibroid doctor?
How do I evaluate or rate a fibroid doctor?
What questions should I ask my fibroid doctor?
The debonair fibroid doctor
Does my Interventional Radiologist remind me of a comic book character?

8 Responses to “Another meeting with the debonair fibroid doctor”

  1. Aly Fibroids Says:

    Good for you, Geek! Congratulations and here’s to another six months of shrinkage! I’m crossing my fingers that my FREAKISHLY LARGE UTERUS pre-UFE measurement of 12.7 x 8 x 11.4 cm will shrink down to your pre-UFE measurement. Heck, I’ll take any change so long as it’s not an increase!

  2. Aly Fibroids Says:

    Hey Eclectic: I want to keep posting under here so that everyone will read about your shrinkage! For instance, where’s FIBROID FREE? Does she know yet? I’m still so psyched that the UFE is working. I can’t wait until February 21st.

    Which reminds me, I should probably call my IR because I don’t have an MRI scheduled or anything. I don’t have any info except a little card that say’s “6 mo. follow-up, 10:00 a.m., 2/21/07”. Perhaps they’ll be able to judge it by the way I’llskip and sing into their office? La La La…

  3. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hey Aly Fibroids,

    Keep posting here as much as you want. My IR said he would visit the site again. I forgot to tell him that I nicknamed him “the debonair fibroid doctor” and “Batman” so it would be pretty funny (at least to me) if he stopped by only to see 50 comments under this post. 😉

    Wow. FREAKISHLY LARGE UTERUS was, in fact, FREAKISHLY LARGE pre-UFE. 👿

    I knew my fibroids were smaller than a lot of women who post here. Seeing dimensions is adding a level of clarity in my brain. Forgive me for not having my numbers sooner but I just wanted the fibroids treated whatever the size. I remember being troubled over the larger subserosal one because it was pedunculated. I thought it would detach from its stalk, float away into my internal netherworld, and cause problems post-UFE. Nope. My Doc was more concerned over a couple of the smaller submucosal ones. I am so glad my IR and GYN were able to come up with a great plan tailored to my case.

    I knew these fibroids had to shrink or die or a combination of both. *Star Trek Fan Alert:

    The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few.

    In order for EclecticGeek to live life more abundantly, the fibroids had to take one for the team. I asked that they do so as quietly as possible but prepared the rest of me in case they didn’t.

    Aly, I’m getting excited for you because I know FLU must be smaller. It has to be. That is what I will chant until your measurement… FLU is smaller! FLU is smaller! So, schedule you appointment.

    FLU is smaller! FLU is smaller!… 😀

  4. EclecticGeek Says:

    Yeah, where is FIBROID FREE?

    She’s a geek and can’t stay away. 😛 I’m sure she’ll stop by soon.

  5. Aly Fibroids Says:

    Hey Eclectic: I called the IR about the six month follow-up appointment. Guess what?!! They won’t do an MRI unless I’ve been having problems! I’m relieved because my insurance doesn’t cover all of the MRI cost and I was concerned about that expense, but I’m a bit disappointed because I want to SEE the changes! So, my measurement of improvement will be my skipping and singing in to this follow-up appointment! Tra la la…

    P.S. I absolutely know that there is a reduction in size. I’m not having anywhere near the problems I was pre-UFE or even two/three months post-UFE. (I’ll also talk to my GYN during my physical in March; maybe she’ll do a quick ultrasound).

  6. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hey Aly,

    Dang. I was looking forward to crunching the numbers. So, how are they tracking post-UFE outcomes? I guess it will be the “tra la la” factor. 😀

    I’m glad you are feeling better. FLU IS smaller!

  7. Aly Fibroids Says:

    Hey Eclectic: Look! I have some measurements! Drum roll, please:

    Uterus is now 9 x 8.9 x 5.7 cm
    Large Left Fibroid is now 5.6 x 4.6 x 4.1
    Large Right Fibroid is now 5.5 x 3.3 x 4.5

    (I was so excited about these small numbers that I forgot to ask them about what happened to all the other fibroids. DOH!).

    ANYWAY, CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?!! I HAVE SHRINKAGE!!!

  8. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hey Aly Fibroids!

    YAAAAAAAAY!!!!

    I am doing the happy dance! No more FREAKISHLY LARGE UTERUS! You’re still standing. Yeah, yeah, yeah.

    I’m so excited. FLU IS smaller. Got to call it something else now. YAAAAAAAY!!!

    :mrgreen:


Comments are closed.

