My fibroid blog is an active experiment in real time!

Spent much of the day making changes to the site that will (hopefully!) make it easier to find stuff. This is my blog (an active experiment). It’s a mixture of personal journal, science-based resource, and support forum. I’m really stretching the definition of a blog (square peg in a round hole and all) but I’m enjoying every minute. Here are today’s changes:

  1. Renamed the “Welcome” page to “Help!”. I think Help! is more eye-catching and will draw people who get a little lost while wandering or want to utilize the site better. I’ve added some additional instructions there including a how-to on posting comments.
  2. Renamed the “References” page to “Links”. I think visitors in general are more used to link pages when they travel around the Internet. I am most interested in seeing if this will increase the visits to that page. Remember there are lots of good medical resources listed there.
  3. Renamed the “Index” page to “Archive”. I’m hoping this name change better reflects the purpose of the page. All my posts are categorized by subject. You can view the categories and thus locate older posts through this page.
  4. Added a “tag cloud” to the Archive page. This is what took a bit of time. Previously the categories were arranged in a straight up-and-down list. Now, they are in a cloud. (A happy, happy cloud.) Categories with more posts will appear larger. I think it’s an easier way to find my posts that interest you.

Okay. That’s all for now. Hope these changes help. I really want you to get as much as you can out of my fibroid blog. Thanks (as always) for your visits and support.

Take care.

[Edited to add: That tag cloud on the Archive page looks a little screwy using Internet Explorer 6. Will have to look at it again tomorrow. I’m hoping it works with IE7. You could always be like me and use Firefox instead. 😉 ]

5 Responses to “My fibroid blog is an active experiment in real time!”

  1. Tina (1/24) Says:

    Hey EG,
    Between crying over tonight’s episode of Grey’s Anatomy and laughing over the posts under post op AM, I’ve had a wonderful evening sans hubby. You have something huge here, you know it! Thanks for all you do. Rock on girlfriend.

  2. EclecticGeek Says:

    Thanks Tina!

    I think it’s about to get a lot smaller. That’s not necessarily a bad thing. There are many women here who really need help, many discussions I would like to have on various issues, and many other fibroid-related projects I would like to get off the ground. Unfortunately, I have no time because a section of this blog is getting out of control.

    Changes are coming. Even if that means most of my present visitors stop coming. I’m in this for the long haul. I don’t have any problem with blogging to a smaller audience.

    Please know that my next couple of posts are not addressed to you. You are familiar with most of my site and migrate around, adding great comments everywhere. I’m sorry I haven’t had time to respond but that will be corrected very soon.

    Thanks for being so supportive! It really does mean a lot to me. The encouragement and the thought that perhaps I am helping are the things that keep me going. 😀

  3. fibroid free Says:

    Hey lots of us are here with you for the long run !!!
    You gotta do what YOU gotta do!

    Yeah I about died when I read your post in the AM thread…..I was like Ohhh there goes EG…telling it like it is!!! LOVED your approach!

    Like Tina said ROCK ON GURLLLL!!! let me go read that Phila Tribune article…I KNOW there is somethign in there abotu 40 somethign moms LOL ………

  4. EclecticGeek Says:

    Had to remove the “cloud” from the Archive page. I couldn’t get it to look right in other browsers and one visitor who wasn’t too particular about it sent me email. Besides the straight up-and-down list looks geekier. 😎

  5. EclecticGeek Says:

    Hey fibroid free,

    Thanks for the continued support! You are one of the “back in the day/remember when” gals. You’ve been here so long there are times I want to ask if you walked to school barefoot in the snow. LOL

    Yeah, sometimes I have to be a little tough… but it’s tough LOVE! I think just about everyone understood that it wasn’t anything personal. It was a wake-up call for us all.

    Thanks again!!! 😀


Leave a Reply

