Reflecting on The Elegant Universe and string theory

The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene (string theory)Seem to have slowed down today. Still feeling a little under the weather but happy. I started reading Brian Greene’s The Elegant Universe a couple of days ago. Found a good quote near the beginning that I will probably add to the Home page or About page of this site eventually:

When science is widely seen as an integral part of what makes us human, our own connection to the cosmos will be significantly strengthened; truly, science is the thread that weaves us all into the fabric of reality.


For the truly geeky: (Yeah, that means you!)

Wikipedia entry for superstring theory

NOVA | The Elegant Universe | PBS

The Official String Theory Web Site

The symphony of everything – Superstring theory

Reflecting on that quote, I realize that my interest in science does not just involve my mind and body. It encompasses my spirit as well. I am of the opinion that the best ideas come about when there is a balance between the three.

3 Responses to “Reflecting on The Elegant Universe and string theory”

  1. Catherine Morgan Says:

    I read this book a few years ago. It is excellent. I even got the DVD and watch it with my 15 year old son, and he thinks it’s great too.

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Had my post MRI on February 26, 2007. My IVR is away and will be back this coming week. Will let everyone know how I make out. I feel good and it has been 3 months since my UFE. I still have a lot of discharge from the Tumor but I think this is a good sign.

  3. EclecticGeek Says:

    Catherine:
    Yes, I’m a little late by my own doing. My husband is not really a science person (more Art/Literature/History) and we seldom discuss the subject. He read the book years ago and was talking about it then. I was really confused by that fact so I talked to my sister (another Art major) about it. She was so animated, I think I became frightened. Must be the end of the world if the two most non-science people I know are discussing string theory. 😀

    I did see the PBS NOVA series some time ago and enjoyed it. I’ve always been fascinated by dimensions. The DVD would be a good reference to have on hand. It’s great that you watch it with your son. Definitely, one of the best ways to expand the mind and develop critical thinking skills. Wow, did that sound like a PBS pledge drive sound bite?

    Anyway, enough of my geeky rambling. Thanks for your comment. I’m even more excited about the book now.

    Stephanie:
    Thanks for keeping us updated! I’m excited that you are feeling so well. I want the other UFE gals to hear your news so go to this page and tell them all about it:

    How are you feeling after your Uterine Fibroid Embolization?


Comments are closed.

