How are you feeling after your Abdominal Myomectomy? (part 4)

Incredible! It’s up to Part 4.

I’ll just leave the Abdominal Myomectomy links for those who want more information and you can take from there.

For more information:
Abdominal Myomectomy (FibroidSecondOpinion.com)
Abdominal Myomectomy (OBGYN.net)
Abdominal Myomectomy (Mayo Clinic)
Abdominal Myomectomy surgery video (OR-Live.com)

If you have a post-Abdominal Myomectomy experience, please tell! If you’ve shared before, go ahead and share some more.

First AM forum = 640 comments.
Part 2 = 457 comments
Part 3 = 479 comments

——————–

Related Posts:
How are you feeling after your Abdominal Myomectomy?
How are you feeling after your Abdominal Myomectomy? (part 2)
How are you feeling after your Abdominal Myomectomy? (part 3)
Is anyone having fertility issues because of uterine fibroid tumors?
Trying for pregnancy (ttc) after your fibroid procedure (Abdominal Myomectomy)?
Has anyone had a postoperative infection after a fibroid procedure?
Has anyone needed a second uterine fibroid surgery or procedure?
Muffin Top after abdominal surgery? What’s a muffin top and how do I just make it go away?

3,634 Responses to “How are you feeling after your Abdominal Myomectomy? (part 4)”

  1. Tonia Says:

    Hello,
    I am a 29 year old women, I was told I had fibroids about a year and a half ago. I was scheduled for the surgery a year ago but I was scaried, so I canceled it. I was recently told that the tumors have incresed in size. I am really considering going through with it this August. I am Terrified of have the surgery, but ready to go on with my life fibroid free, and start a family.
    Questions: How long is the hospital stay after the surgery?? 2. How long does it take to heal?? 3. Did the pain and heaviness of the period decrease?? 4. What is the expected healing time before trying to get pregnant??
    5. Have anyone had any signs of their tumors growing back??

    Thank you so much for your input

  2. Tonia Says:

    Hello,
    I am a 29 year old women, I was told I had fibroids about a year and a half ago. I was scheduled for the surgery a year ago but I was scaried, so I canceled it. I was recently told that the tumors have incresed in size. I am really considering going through with it this August. I am Terrified of have the surgery, but ready to go on with my life fibroid free, and start a family.
    Questions: How long is the hospital stay after the surgery?? 2. How long does it take to heal?? 3. Did the pain and heaviness of the period decrease?? 4. What is the expected healing time before trying to get pregnant??
    5. Have anyone had any signs of their tumors growing back??

    Thank you so much for your input

    • Amy Says:

      Hi Tonia, You’ll find that not too many people are on this site anymore because the person who started it has abandoned it and so it doesn’t work very well (I personally think she might have died because i can’t imagine she would have left it.)

      The reason I’m writing this is because you’ll find answers to all of your questions if you read through many of the letters here – if you click on the “older comments” link and it doesn’t work, just put in wordpress. after geekwithfibroids. into the web address, and you will get the older posts that have a wealth of info. It should look like this at the beginning of the address: https://geekwithfibroids.wordpress.com

      That said, I’ll tell you what i know.
      1 &2 . For a laparoscopic myomectomy you can go home the same or next day – that’s what I had, and I was back at work in a week, although I probably could have gone back sooner. With the abdominal myomectomy I think you stay in the hospital longer and it takes longer to heal because your incision is bigger and the incisions in your uterus have to heal- you’ll have to look at the old comments to get the answer from women who actually went through the procedure.
      3. If the fibroids were causing the bleeding and heaviness and they are removed, yes that will go away!!
      4. I don’t know, I’m not trying.
      5. It does happen to some women… but not to me so far.

      As for your fear of surgery, if you researched your doctor and are confident in him or her, then don’t be afraid, prepare yourself as the women here suggest and you’ll be fine. I also postponed my surgery and I am so glad I finally did it… dont’ put it off!
      Good luck!

      • Tiny Says:

        Hi Tonia,

        I just had an abdominal myomectomy done three weeks ago. Like you I also canceled my surgery in march of this year. I am currently in the healing process.
        1.) I stayed 3 days in the hospital so with an abdominal myomectomy you will stay no longer than 4 days in the hospital.
        2.) My gynecologist told me that I have approximately 6 weeks to heal. Yet the total time to heal completely varies from 12 weeks to a year.
        3) I got my period a day after the surgery and for the first time in my life my period came down for a week and three days opposed to my regular 3 days. again my gynocologist assured me that this was the process of cleansing my uterus after the operation. Hopefully I’ll be back to my standard 3 day period in August.
        4.) The healing process before pregnancy takes 3 moths as your uterus has several stitches in it that needs to be healed first.
        5.) I just had 18 fibroids removed on July 10th 2012. My surgeon had to leave a small one behind because it was lying on my artery in my uterus. I did however understand that they do grow back but before they do I will be taking fibrovera to regulate my hormonal imbalances that tend to make the fibroids grow.

        The funny thing in all of this is, though I had 19 thriving fibroids they never give me any problems other than the need to frequently urinate. I only chose to remove them because I am now aiming to concieve. Now 34 and I wish to become a mother at 35.
        After the operation however I am having some serious issues with defecating.

        This is a very helpful website that depicts the operation and healing process.
        http://www.jpaget.nhs.uk/documents/GY_16_Myomectomy_Booklet.pdf

        Hope to have been of some help

        Tiny

      • Tonia Says:

        THank you so much with your reply. It really helped.

      • Angel Says:

        Hi Tiny and Tonia,

        I had my abdominal myomectomy on January 6th of this year, so it’s been almost 7 months. My periods were still very crampy and sometimes heavy afterward (I actually got my period on the DAY OF my surgery. Fun!). But, I noticed that the last period I had, last month, was not painful and only lasted a few days, which I was happy about. I mostly had the surgery to make conception and pregnancy easier. I am 36 and have not yet had children, but I do want a child. The area near my incision is still sometimes tender and numb on the left side surface. It’s weird when it itches there and I go to scratch and I can’t feel it! Frustrating. Tiny, I too, have had issues with defecation lately. Do you think it really has something to do with the surgery? Hmmm…

      • Tonia Says:

        Thank You so much. I really appreciate it.

  3. Tiny Says:

    You’re most welcome Tonia,
    Angel, according to the doctor, he said that after the operation the anesthesia affects the bowels and makes them lazy. I am starting to believe that as before the operation I had daily bowel movements. Now it seems like I am defecating once a week and very little. Today I recieved an anal laxative that is to help stimulate my bowels”can’t wait”

    The left side of my abdomen is also very sensitive and the stitches are itching, yet all I could do is pat them cause I am scared to scratch them.
    Angel do tell, are you busy with TTC? And if you are, is it working out for you?

    Forever Tiny

  4. sa Says:

    I had 9 fibroids so I went for abdominal myomectomy October 18,2012 I saw after 3 Weeks I was doing good,and I stoped eating mortin when my husband saw I m getting better I in my 4 Weeks he had sex ,during sex he bent my legs too,than after 2,3 days I felt I have pain more pain than before,when I touched it feel like current on it ,there was two bubbles in the corner of my incision and had PUss too…I started crying my husband too me to doctor he got very very angry he said I did very nice job,and now there is infection ,If u dont feel good after these antibiotics than u can be in trouble…I was terrible regret the time idid sex and bent ,please if u go any c sectin dont bend your west ,hips dont sit on floor,dont lean on somthing,,til 4,5 months

  5. hollie Says:

    I had an abdominal myomectomy 15 months ago at first things went back to normal the swelling and bloating I’d lived with for so long went down an not having to take all the tablets to stop horrendous amounts of bleeding with the fibroids was a god send. Although I got pneumonia during my operation the surgeon used latex stitches to which I’m allergic to this triggered Anaphalactic shock and I had an asthma attack on the table causing fluid to get in my lungs after I recovered this I got a serious infection an the only way I can describe it is the whole stitched site exploded an so much brown goo oozed out I was scared to death home alone with my daughter of 6 years old I couldn’t get up I thought my insides would fall out I was told to keep a towel on it over night then back to hospital the next day ended up havin 2 further surgerys and some kind of air pressure therapy with a tube suckin excess goo into a machine an then another operation and lots of muscle removed due to this… I’ve since been tryin to concieve to no avail an now I’m suffering with constipation stomach pain and feeling sick an back to being constipated for weeks at a time, my periods have disappeared and I’m lucky if I get spotting, my doctor is a waste of time an practically wants me to diagnose myself what is the point I’m going for a second opinion next week because I can’t go on like this I’m so disheartened and fed up…. Fibroids and a negligent surgeon have ruined the last 4 years of my life well at the very least made it extremely difficult I am still unable to lift things and walk long distances because of all the muscles I had removed an also suffer from nerve pain where they too have been damaged during the operations…. If you can have this operation vaginally I urge you too don’t risk this kind of suffering… I wish you all a speedy recovery fibroid free x

    • amy Says:

      Hollie! What a horrendous nightmare! I guess you are one of those few exceptions that have problems! From what you are saying it sounds like you are lucky you didn’t die!!! I had my fibroids removed laparoscopically and have had no problems at all, but even that way or vaginally, if I’d been allergic to latex I would have been in trouble too, although I guess there would have been less stitches in the first place. I’m curious, did you have any idea you were allergic to latex before the operation? I sometimes wonder if I’m developing an allergy because sometimes my lips swell up a little after I eat mangos … and it’s my understanding they have latex…

      Have you seen other surgeons – at a different location about this? I’m asking because if they know each other I find they are very reluctant to say anything bad about another surgeon’s work… so you might consider even going to another city, if you can, to be seen – and maybe even consider malpractice – especially if he knew about the latex – which he must have once you reacted on the operating table – unless he thought it was something else!

      At any rate, I hope you can eventually conceive and that you can heal as much as is possible sooner rather than later… and that you can do something about the pain. I’m so sorry! Take care and keep us posted – I think it’s important for people to know that this kind of thing can happen, although rare, it can happen…
      Amy

  6. hollie Says:

    I had an abdominal myomectomy 15 months ago at first things went back to normal the swelling and bloating I’d lived with for so long went down an not having to take all the tablets to stop horrendous amounts of bleeding with the fibroids was a god send. Although I got pneumonia during my operation the surgeon used latex stitches to which I’m allergic to this triggered Anaphalactic shock and I had an asthma attack on the table causing fluid to get in my lungs after I recovered this I got a serious infection an the only way I can describe it is the whole stitched site exploded an so much brown goo oozed out I was scared to death home alone with my daughter of 6 years old I couldn’t get up I thought my insides would fall out I was told to keep a towel on it over night then back to hospital the next day ended up havin 2 further surgerys and some kind of air pressure therapy with a tube suckin excess goo into a machine an then another operation and lots of muscle removed due to this… I’ve since been tryin to concieve to no avail an now I’m suffering with constipation stomach pain and feeling sick an back to being constipated for weeks at a time, my periods have disappeared and I’m lucky if I get spotting, my doctor is a waste of time an practically wants me to diagnose myself what is the point I’m going for a second opinion next week because I can’t go on like this I’m so disheartened and fed up…. Fibroids and a negligent surgeon have ruined the last 4 years of my life well at the very least made it extremely difficult I am still unable to lift things and walk long distances because of all the muscles I had removed an also suffer from nerve pain where they too have been damaged during the operation…. If you can have this operation vaginally I urge you too don’t risk this kind of suffering… I wish you all a speedy recovery fibroid free x

  7. ugh! Says:

    10 days post-op when will the pain from sneezing and coughing stop?

  8. shoush Says:

    I had a myo on d 3rd of jan 2013 whc makes me 8weeks tdy afta myo,I wld say having the op was the best decsion av made so far,I went back to my old self,who was all busy and alive,the weight as a result of the fibroid disappeared.
    Even though we’ve not started trying again cos its not completely dried up,there was a part dat had a swelling and brought out puss,it got opened a bit.
    I believe a serve a. God of all possiibilities,he wld d it whn d time is right.

  9. Christie Says:

    I’m 5 days post op from an abdominal myomectomy. I had a 8cm subserosel fibroid and have been ttc for over a year without success. My period has been progressively getting worse the last few years to the point that otc pain killers werent helping and this was ultimately the reason I persued surgery. This surgery was difficult and invasive and I’m really hoping it was a success.

    • D Stafford Says:

      Christie, it will be a success. I had an abdominal myomectomy on April 11, 2013 and have had two normal periods (!). Walk as much as you can, rest when you need it, eat healthy foods, forgive yourself for what you cannot do and take pleasure in the things that you can. A happy heart will help you heal quicker than anything else.
      This is my 6th week and today I took my horse out for an easy ride, walked a half mile and did a little gardening. Just be aware of your body and listen to what it want and needs. The body wants to heal but it needs you to help it along.
      Good luck, our bodies are pretty darn complicated but this procedure is a good one.

  10. Lilla Says:

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s
    the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

    • Amy Says:

      Hi Lila,
      Unfortunately, no one is administering this site (my own opinion is that Eclectic Geek may have died, as I can’t imagine her abandoning something she worked so hard to put together.)
      That said, have you tried putting in the word : “wordpress” into the link you click on, right after “geekwithfibroids” with a period before and after wordpress (just like the address of this page)? If I ever get a link that doesn’t work, I just add that and it goes through…. good luck, there is a wealth of information on all the pages. Let me know if it works for you!

  11. Tiana Says:

    I am a Nigerian, had an open myo on 03/01/2014. D doc told me my menses started post op, there was moderate bleeding for a wk. Then it reduced gradually to brownish spotting, i complained about this but was told it normal. The spotting stopped 30days post op. I had a long walk a wk after and d spotting came back with sharp waist pain. I only hope av not injured my internal sutures

    • hollie Says:

      Hi, I had an abdominal myomectomy two years an 4 month ago it took six months to heal with wound infections and constantly busting my scar :/ at that time I just thought things just weren’t meant to get better. The fibroids ruined my daily living I could barely go anywhere menses were so heavy and constant I had to wear adult diapers just to be able to go about household tasks an soak up the blood I lost my son at 22 weeks gestation because of placental abruption caused by my fibroids too. But now I’m so much more positive because of the abdominal myomectomy managed to have a lil girl by c section 18 weeks ago tomorrow had no problems with the section although I do now have small fibroids they started to grow back during the pregnancy but I’m not suffering likeI did before an my life seems to have turned around thanks to the surgery even though recovery took so long. So those of you who are suffering post op stay positive it will all be better in the long term X

    • ensatina Says:

      Sounds like you are doing just fine! I had a similar experience years ago and I’m fine.

  12. Delia Says:

    Hello everyone. I’m having some problems here myself. Hollie your story is horrendous! Glad you are feeling better. I had an abdominal myomectomy 9 weeks ago and I am still in a lot of pain. I went into surgery knowing I had 6 large fibroids that were causing me many problems and needed to be removed. These fibroids ranged in size form 13 cm to 5 cm. When I awoke from my surgery, I learned my doctor had removed 27 fibroids! I almost had a heart attack (not literally). Before the surgery my uterus was the size of a six month pregnancy. My surgical incision is ten inches long. My recovery has been horrendous. The first four weeks I practically slept around the clock. It was too painful to move and the pain meds knocked me out. I went 10 days without a bowel movement due to dehydration, immobility and narcotic pain meds. I was unaware of how serious the situation got until I became impacted. I will spare you the details, but it was one of the worse experiences of my life. By the seventh week I was finally able to spend some time in my living room. Still in a lot of pain and discomfort, but at least out of bed and up in couch. I tried doing small chores around the house but could not tolerate activity for longer than ten minutes or so before I needed to sit and rest. I was also feeling easily fatigued. Okay, so I forgot to mention the terrible gastrointestinal pain that I’ve been experiencing during my entire recovery that is not going away at all. Hyperactive bowel sounds, extremely painful intermittent cramping, gas pockets and it feels like my uterus is attached to my bowels and that I was stitched “too tight” internally.. Has anyone ever experienced anything like this after an abdominal myomectomy or even heard of this? I fear adhesions or partial small bowel obstruction. I’ve mentioned these symptoms to my surgeon on several occasions and he keeps telling me this pain is normal and that nothing is wrong. I no longer believe him, as I’ve waited too long for this pain to go away and it has not. Getting very frustrated at this point and STILL resting in bed. I try to walk around my house and do light stretching exercises but nothing seems to help. Anyone experience anything like this before???

  13. S Copeland Says:

    Wow….if I had read these stories before my surgery I may not have had it. I also had an abdominal myomectomy about 7 weeks ago and it was the best thing I have ever done in my life. My fibroids were found at the age of 24. I am now 33 and the last 10 years of living with this has been awful….clothes not fitting, weight gain, heavy painful periods, cramping almost constantly, painful sex, bladder and bowel issues. I actually had a student do my surgery with the help of my dr. My incision turned out to be only 3″ long but longer on the inside. I stayed overnight in the hospital. I needed the nurse just the first time to help me out of bed. The catheter was the worst. Having to get up every 2 hours to force myself to urinate even if I didn’t want to but it helped get things working. I drank lots of water and broth. Went home and didn’t have anyone to help me. Before surgery I had made sure everything was where it needed to be for when I came home. I slept on the couch as it was easier to get out of. Kept a log of medications (I have high blood pressure as well but it was super low after surgery). TAKE MEDICATIONS ON A SCHEDULE. Probably the best advice I can give. I took Norco every 4 hours and Motrin 800mg every 6 hours (so they were staggered). Took stool softener on a schedule as well (although it ended up not helping, I needed a laxative at about 3 days). If you do not have a bowel movement after 3 days, TAKE SOMETHING ELSE OR CALL YOUR DOCTOR. Once I was feeling better, I started taking Norco every 6 hours, then 8, then just as needed. Other than that i took Motrin. Another word of advice….WALK WALK WALK. There is a reason they tell you to do it. It really does get things going and healing. I got out of the house a little at a time starting the 1st week. It was just for dinner but it got me moving. After 2 weeks I was feeling almost back to normal. I also waited the 6 full weeks until intercourse. You do not want to cause an infection or any other issues by having sex. It is not worth it. I also used the hibiclens on my incision to prevent infection for the first 2 or 3 weeks after. I hope this helps someone else to not get scared by reading all these stories of bad myomectomies. We are the ones in charge of our health but the doctors are the experts. If you don’t know why you should do something, ask them! That’s what they get paid for.

  14. Lana Haavig Says:

    I had a abdominal myometomy, no hysterectomy my stomach is still swollen this surgery was Feb 29th, I have gained 3 lbs are my insides still swollen? If so when will it all go back to normal?

  15. Miss K Says:

    I am a 51 year old African American woman. I’m hoping that my comment will help others. I had a myomectomy in September 2001. Right after I had it , a nurse whispered in my ear and said , you know that their gonna grow back. I wuz stunned. The doc would not do a hysterectomy, I guess because I was young although I assured him that I had no plans for kids. I had problems immediately after the surgery. I was discharged with a bowel obstruction and was home from the hospital sick and unable to keep anything down , barely a popsicle. My follow up with the doc was a week later. I went back to the doctors office weak and leaning over in a wheelchair. Wen the doctor entered the room , I threw up and was taken back to the hospital to b admitted for the bowel obstruction. I had an abdominal myomectomy which caused scar tissue that left me with keloided skin and problems with bowel blockage again , 2 years later. I was cut again in that same spot. The surgeon told me that she was gonna open me up , remove the scar tissue , put sum type of jelly stuff under my skin and close me back up. Thank god she used staples rather than disolving stitches , which the first surgeon used. I don’t think those dissolving stiches were good for my skin. Of course the fibroid did grow back over the years andy periods are still horrible. In 2013 I had a uterine artery embolization which is done in radiology by an interventional radiologist on an outpatient basis. They insert a needle into your groin with a material that shrinks the fibroids over the course of 6 – 12 months. This was helpful for me in my opinion. The heavy bleeding lessened. It is now 2016 and I am menopausal age but haven’t started menopause and the heavy bleeding has started up again , which it sometimes does be fore menopause. I visited my doctor , not the one who did the myomectomy years ago. I had an mri and a biopsy. The mri showed several fibroid , mostly submucosal , which are the ones really causing me problems. They are heavily embedded in the uterine lining. I also had a blood transfusion in 2011 due to the heavy blood loss. The doc suggested a procedure called a endometrial ablation or hydrothermal ablation in which they use hot water to kill the blood in the uterine lining. I asked the doc to contact the radiologist to c if I can undergo another uterine embolization. I will know within a week. I’m not a good surgical candidate due to the previous scar tissue and a hysterectomy is too invasive and the recovery time for each woman. I was told that your period could stop anywhere between 50 and 55. Ugghh.
    I hope this helps someone. Been pretty much having this problem my whole life. With so much technology and new procedures , I wouldn’t recommend any woman to get cut on if you can help it. Do your research including the procedures I listed. I never wanna b cut on again in life. No cutting involved with the embolization and ur sedated. No cutting involved with the ablation , although I have yet to undergo that one. Good luck ! Don’t just do nuthin if you are experiencing heavy bleeding and by all means get your blood count checked every three months. Hemoglobin and crit. Take an iron pill during your cycle and eat iron rich foods. Take care and God bless !


Leave a Reply

