Cutting off a toe to save a foot

Several members of my family have experienced the difficult decision of giving up a part of themselves to save themselves. For some, it involved an amputation resulting from diabetic neuropathy and one member of my family required radical surgery for breast cancer.

What does all of that mean in terms of this site?

This started to just be an entry about occasionally deleting content from my blog if I felt it was detrimental to the entire fibroid family. However, once I started thinking about the phrase, something much deeper surfaced…

This is important! If you choose to treat your fibroids, you really have to think in those terms. The graphic image of losing a toe is necessary to illustrate my point.

There are no easy answers when it comes to fibroids. In some cases, there are less-invasive answers but you are still treating something that is a part of you. It is not a golf ball or softball or some other inanimate object. It is a living piece of you just like a toe or breast.

Understand that once you decide to treat your fibroids, you are giving up a part of yourself to save yourself. It doesn’t matter if the fibroids are surgically removed, embolized, zapped, or anything else. The same thing applies. Realize that fibroid treatment and recovery are not things to fear. They are processes. Means to an end.

Yeah, I know. Easy for me to say (all several months post-op and everything) but read what I wrote in my composition notebook while in the hospital bed the day of my Uterine Fibroid Embolization:

Fibroids are a part of me but they must die. Please don’t fight back. Die quietly and w/o much pain.

Low pain. Low pain. Low pain. ↓↓↓

The fibroids were a part of me but they had to go (or at least shrink). I asked that they “take one for the team” and die quietly. I prepared myself mentally, spiritually, and physically (by getting as healthy as I could) before my procedures. I was then ready to give up a part of myself to save myself. No regrets.

One last “logical” quote (‘cuz you know I’m a Star Trek fan):

The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few.

This also applies to your life as an individual. Your well-being is important. Sometimes, that requires personal sacrifice.

6 Responses to “Cutting off a toe to save a foot”

  1. Amy Says:

    I refuse to see cysts or fibroids as a part of me when they aren’t “supposed” to be there…I see them as parasites, and doing more damage than just feeding off of me. I want to reclaim my body. Good ridance.

    I relate much more to what your’re saying with reference to the possibility of having a hysterectomy, or even only an ablation as I did. It was really strange to be upset about losing my endometrium in the ablation, even if I had already undergone menopause…

    for us science geeks, it was fun looking up “ablation” note the second definition:

    1 the surgical removal of body tissue.
    2 the removal of snow and ice by melting or evaporation, typically from a glacier or iceberg.
    • the erosion of rock, typically by wind action.
    • the loss of surface material from a spacecraft or meteorite through evaporation or melting caused by friction with the atmosphere.

    funny, it makes me feel a little better thinking in those terms… maybe because they are natural processes…

  2. ama Says:

    Hi

    I just had a am 2 weeks ago and I am experiencing a lot of nausea along with some shooting pains in my lower abdominal area. I have gone to post-op visit and my doctor ordered test to find out if I have any obstruction in the bowel area. I am very slowly having regular bowel movements and just of late I have had LOTs of gas both through passing pass and belching(sp). I really wish I knew what was going on, the nausea has been pretty bad for almost a week now everytime I eat. So, my diet is very limited and I am on phenergran.

    So, i am just wondering if anyone has experienced or know someone who has experienced this problem.

    Peace & Blessings
    Ama

  3. DMITRI Says:

    Hi,

    Your post really touched me… No matter how much I want my fibroid gone, I am afraid to let it go.

    Our bodies created the fibroids for one reason or another. They are apart of us, for better or for worse and every one of us must find the courage and strength to deal with them. It has taken me three years to finally start thinking about a surgical option.

    When I really think about the my fibroid being gone, I realized that a huge part of me would be gone…my crutch, my excuse, my reason for not living to my potential—this is my large fibroid tumor that I am talking about.

    This is very hard for me to admit, but for the past few years, I have felt sorry for myself and have wanted everyone else to feel sorry for me because of the fibroid. Losing the fibroid is huge, it is like losing a sympathetic friend, an alien baby, or any other example each of us may have.

    Geek, thank you so much for this post! As the days pass, I know I am closer and closer to coming to a resolution with the fibroid. Everyday is a new day and we have to make the best of it….find the good and never give up!!

  4. Christine (6/27) Says:

    I personally did not have the viewpoint that the fibroid was part of me. I could understand more if the removal involved an organ (such as the utereus) or an appendage (arm or leg). These are clearly necessary and common elements to a human body. Please do not take the following as anything but a person (me) trying to understand this. I truly am curious and am in no way trying to invalidate your feelings if you do view a tumor emotionally.

    With that being said, please help me understand. If you were diagnosed with an operable brain tumor (malignant or benign) would you still feel the same way? The tumor is composed of your human tissue, not foreign objects. Are you emotionally attached to warts or scabs? Do you feel sorry for tapeworms? If you get a blood clot, would yiou hesitate to treat it? Obviously, I have proposed extremes. That is intentional, maybe due to my own inability to comprehend these feelings. I am hoping that if I share with you where I am coming from, perhaps you can guide me to where you are.

    I think it is important to understand that fibroids are not innocuous. They can and do lead to other (sometimes life-threatening) complications/conditions. For example, red degeneration can cause sepsis. How about infertility? Still-borns and miscarriages?

    I am concerned about the fear someone is going through over removing a fibroid. I hope anyone who feels an attachment to their fibroids can find the support they need to work through these issues as bravely as Dmitri has. That take courage to admit. Wow.

    It is frustrating for me, a clinical researcher, that so little is done to educate, support, and treat women suffering with fibroids. If I have offended, please accept my sincerest apologies. That was not my intention.

  5. Anna Says:

    The answers we seek can be found and they do not have to be “medical solutions”. The truth behind much of women’s health has to do with stress and stress is not caused by the usual things that are pointed at. Stress results where there is underhanded foul play and it is done for many reason; to manipulate and control another person, for revenge and out of jealousy -in the main. Check out my website at http://www.annavictoria.net and find out the shocking truth. Knowledge however is power, knowledge is health. You can regain your health utterly.

  6. Nichole Labree Says:

    I honey your stories very much because they are published in an understandable comprehensible. So I can read them although I come from Germany and get some problems to translate English stories.


Leave a Reply

